Castles of the Czech Republic is very different from each other not only in historical significance, but also for its architectural style and direction.
by Zhebiton on February 17, 2012
In the north-western part of Bohemia, on the left bank of the river, on top of one of the three hills near the village of Lestkov, are very romantic and picturesque ruins of the ancient castle Egerberk. According to studies, the initial plan of the castle was in the form of an ellipse, occupies an area of two hundred and eighty square meters. He was surrounded by a deep ditch with him thrown over a drawbridge and bulk shaft height of fifteen feet. Exterior walls two meters thick perfectly played the role of the main protection for the inhabitants of Egerberka. Inside the walls, in the eastern part of the almost rectangular courtyard, was a three-story building that served as home to the owners of the castle, on the second floor where there was a large room with windows to the courtyard and a wooden gallery leading to the third floor, in small rooms with relatively thin walls (possibly which served as bedrooms for the residents once the home). And in the southern part of the third floor there was something quite unique for the time at which the castle was built, - a bathroom. Around this three-story apartment buildings were built capital outbuildings (most likely, stables, barns, corrals for the cattle, and similar facilities). Today, in the territory where once stood at the height of 240 meters above the level of Odrzhi one of the most beautiful castles in the Czech Republic, and now preserved only a few walls, the remains of the chapel and outbuildings in the courtyard, you can either shoot a horror movie or something the great adventures and a great love - so picturesque ruins Egerberka. And you can just go there to touch the stones that keep the story. From the three-story residential buildings remained only part of the perimeter walls with openings Gothic windows. The stones of which were once stacked walls and houses, have a very ancient origin, and (most likely they can be dated to the twelfth century) and later (at the cost of printing of King Wenceslas IV).The path to the castle lies the village of Egerberk Lestkov at a fairly high and steep hill, very slippery in the rain. If the settlement to go to the car on the main road, it can be a bit lost and miss the castle, located in a half-mile from the road. Therefore it is necessary to leave the car and walk along the slopes of the hill. This is a bit difficult, but it opened a unique view of ancient ruins and beautiful views of the surrounding area must reward you for all the work.
Chebský hrad great castle in the Romanesque style, located just above the river Orgzhi in the region of Bohemia. This is the only one in the Czech Republic Castle, built in the Romanesque style.The castle was built by King Frederick I Barbarossa, to whom the land passed by inheritance. At that time it was German territory, and the castle was called Eger (Eger - is the German name for the river Orgzhi).Before our time is fully preserved Black Tower (end of XII century). Its height is 18, 5 meters. The tower was built of rough blocks of tufa in black, for which he was named Black.In the XIX century the castle was reconstructed in the pseudo-Gothic style. The best preserved chapel of Saints Erhard and Ursula. This two-level building in the Roman-Gothic style. The first floor held the service, and belonged to the upper floor of the Imperial family. In the second half of XVII century chapel is in decline and is used as an ammunition depot. Before the chapel are the remains of the burial of the Slavs, dated IX century.During the Baroque reconstruction of the castle remained intact only the casemates and brick walls.At present, the castle of Cheb is the main attraction of the same name and is famous for its ghosts and legends.The first mention of this place belongs to 1061. At the site of the castle was originally a Slavic fortified settlement, and in 1125 it becomes part of the Holy Roman Empire.In 1167 the castle was inherited Frederick I Barbarossa, who turned it into a powerful reinforcement. In 1242 Cheb gets the status of the city.In 1742, French troops conquered the fortress, and it is in decline. In 1809, it is completely closed, and most of the buildings demolished. In the XIX century the castle was a dumping ground for rubbish, and he remained, of course, in a terrible state. Many buildings were covered with debris.At the beginning of XX-th century begin excavations on the territory of the fortress, and work on its restoration. Today, the castle, the exhibition devoted to its history.
In May 2011 the castle Frýdlant celebrated the 210th anniversary. Frýdlant is one of the largest and most important ancient complexes in northern Bohemia, is also considered one of the most ancient castles and museums in Central Europe. The construction of the fortress began in the mid-13th century, and now the castle complex includes two main buildings: a medieval castle and the castle in Renaissance style.Only since 1278 have appeared in the annals of the data on the owners of the castle. During this time he went into the hands of an old family Bieberstein, and so formed the final version of the fortress complex. Around the years 1558-1621 Frýdlant captured Redern race for the continuation of the construction and development of the castle area.In the years 1622-1634 the castle Frýdlant rules famous commander of the Thirty Years War, Albrecht von Wallenstein, Duke of Mecklenburg and Fridlansky, Generalissimo. He bought the castle for 150 000 gold after the Battle of White Mountain.ow castle complex consists of a massive two-storey building in a medieval-style chapel, and the younger brother of "Castle," made in the Renaissance style in the 16-17 centuries. Courtyard surrounded by high brick walls, here and there are large cylindrical tower. The last grand reconstruction of the castle, carried out in the 60s of the 19th century, affected the wing of the castle Castellan.In 1801 the castle became a museum with a unique collection and became open to the public by the owner of the castle Clam-Gallas.The tour of the castle is 90-120 minutes, but you can see the additional half-hour gun-lock chamber.During the tour of the castle guests will spend the female and male halves of the castle, where you can see all the rooms and state rooms, galleries to find the treasure and the Clam-Gallas Gallas, enter the dwelling place of the famed owner of Albrecht von Wallenstein Castle. Tour ends visit to the kitchen, startling dimensions.Guided tour of the Armory is for one person - 130 kron and a family ticket - 370.
The castle was built by local aristocrat Zdeslavom Divishovtsem and at first was called "Pearl Posazavy." Then members of the genus Divishovtsev, like many other Czech nobles, changed the name to the German style. Family Coat of Arms is depicted as a mnogokonechnoy stars, located on a blue background. The name of the emblem, translated from German as "Star Mountain", was born a new name Shtrenberk, because the star in German - "Stern", the hill - "berg." So now the race is one of the Sternberk dynasties, known since ancient times in the Czech Republic. Then it was the most powerful fortress of the Czech Republic and is considered safe because of the inaccessible terrain. Fortress in the original Gothic style is located on top of a high cliff, hanging just above the banks of the beautiful river Sázava, near the town of Benesov.As time went on Most of the castle has changed during the Hussite wars, while the owner Zdenek Sternberk rebelled against the king, for which he was thoroughly destroyed and looted. Therefore, in what the owners have decided to strengthen it, which added a new tower. The castle gradually dilapidated, so quietly in the repair of the building has lost the true Gothic traits and acquired new tastes as owners of the castle changed.In 1907, just a couple of years around the fortress defeated the park. The castle suffered a bit during the Second World War, but after the restoration was again open to the public in 1947.In the southern part of the castle is a fortress bastion Gladomorna - it's almost perfectly preserved example of fortifications late Gothic.For a family Sternberk Castle is not only home but also a source of income. You can not just walk with a guide, but also to remove the room for a wedding in the old style or just a family celebration.Duration - not less than 50 minutes and the minimum group of visitors - 50 people. Also performed and night tours for groups of at least 10 people. But if fewer visitors - will still pay for 10 people. Any trip is advisable to book in advance. Walking through the castle is worth visiting in the main courtyard, where birds of prey show, because they - one of the hobby of the owner of the castle.Castle Šternberk includes fifteen luxurious rooms and halls. On the threshold of tourists come to the Hall of Knights, which may consider a variety of historical exhibits. Then through the Chapel of St. Sebastian are in the yellow room, where you can admire the frescoes of the Baroque period and sit on the furniture from the era of Louis XIV. The guest rooms - Women's lounge and library. In the castle's library has thousands of unique books. Further welcomes guests dining room, where the collection of portraits of members of the genus Sternberk and silver dishes and utensils of the family. Tour goes on through the lobby, decorated in oriental style, and gets into the room for breakfast, it exhibited a collection of figurines and statuettes made of silver. The four rooms are decorated in different styles - from Rococo to Baroque. And the grand staircase, which ends with a walk through the castle, it is impossible not to notice the picture of Philip Sternberg, which depicts scenes from the battlefields.The Castle is packed with examples of ancient weapons of various ages, and visitors to admire the unique furniture, wallpaper, natural leather, painting brushes Dutch and Italian masters of the ages 17-18, fireplaces with tiles, the exhibits of the Museum of hours and stained glass windows.
Castle Chateau Baroque (Liblice) is located not far from Prague. It was built for the Czech noble family by the architect of the Italian Giovanni Battista Allipraidi, who designed the most famous architectural masterpieces in the Czech Republic.Baroque Castle Chateau was built in the 17th century and is considered the gem of the same name as a style in architecture and interior decoration. Popular wedding celebrations in Liblice - the very situation of the castle gives a feeling of romance and fairy tales.Several years ago, the Baroque chateau was rebuilt, after which every tourist can enjoy its beauty and splendor. Reconstruction was carried out at the expense of the European Union, the historical and cultural value of the castle were confirmed by the status of architectural monument.The new image of the Baroque chateau combines the refined atmosphere of the baroque and modern requirements for comfort.From the outdoor terrace to admire the French fleet, and a spacious estate with a park with sculptures, flowering beds and the church. The excellent design of the Marble Hall creates a feeling of traveling to another time and dimension - in an age of romanticism and love.The main hall of the castle is oval in shape, the wings are attached to it a rectangular shape with a plunging neckline.In the 19th century Baroque chateau was reconstructed in Renaissance style.Since 1952, the castle rented the Czechoslovak Academy of Sciences.On the estate Chateau Baroque is a former Gothic church of St. Wenceslas, rebuilt in baroque style and humble chapel of the Virgin Mary, the authorship of which is also owned by Giovanni Battista Allipraidi.In the Baroque chateau held theatrical performances: the medieval dancing, archery, jousting tournaments.The restaurant of the castle the tourist can dine Liblice old kitchen dishes, as well as to visit the wellness center, or to taste wine in the wine cellar.
by Zhebiton on February 11, 2012
In the south of the Czech Republic on the right bank of the Elbe rises a rocky hill, on one of the ledges which at an altitude of 100 m (260 m above sea level) built the castle Strshekov. From the XIV century, when the castle was built, he changed many owners. All of them I do not remember the story, but people remember the many artists, musicians and poets who attended Strshekov in the XIX century. For instance, the Czechs must inform tourists that Strshekov described in his letters to Goethe, that the gloomy walls of the castle inspired Wagner when he wrote the opera Tannhäuser. Now in honor of this event in the castle include a restaurant Wagner.In the XIV century on the hill was built the fortress guard. It does not come down to our days. Some of the modern castle built Strshekov its foundation. Through the gate you can get to the Lower Castle, where the offices were located: a kitchen, stables and a brewery. Kitchen in 1830 converted into a restaurant. The restaurant that operates to this day.From the Lower Castle on the stairs can get to the Old Castle, which consists of a round tower and the Palace of XV century. It is this part of the castle is best seen from the River Elbe and its opposite bank.Castle drew the attention of creative people with their Gothic arches and harsh beauty. In the XIX century castle at different times visited by such person, as a composer, Robert Wagner, Gustave Dore, and many others. In 1810 the castle was opened to the pub. After the Second World War the castle was nationalized, it had restoration work. In 1989 the castle was returned to its owners last Lobkowicz family.Castle Strshekov open to tourists all year round. You can just walk across the yard and the remains of the palace, sit in the restaurant Wagner, admire the Elbe and the entire valley from the balcony over the cliff, or from a viewing platform. If a simple walk seems uninteresting, you can order in advance to book a guided tour to the Czech, German or English. Guide will take the palace, talk about the history of the castle, the composer Wagner and other celebrities who lived in the castle.
The results of sociological research itself Czechs (2007) Castle Telč received well-deserved first place in the list of "most fabulous places the Czech Republic."Telchsky Castle is located in the eponymous town in southern Bohemia. Date of foundation of the castle is not known. On the one hand there are indications that already in 1099 had built the first defensive walls, on the other hand written mention of the castle date back to Telč only the beginning of the 14th century.The founder of the first Gothic castle (later it was rebuilt) is considered the father of German Emperor Charles IV, who lived in these places.The castle and its fortifications played a key role in the development of cities because of the protective moat on one side of the castle and natural pond on the other hand, Telč "upset" only one side of the castle, so now the main street leading to it Telchskomu Castle - the urban heart.Major role in the history of the castle in the middle of the 16th century played a distinguished gentleman Zacharias. Being an avid traveler and connoisseur of art, he was admired by Italian artisans. Returning from another trip to Italy, Zacharias decides to rebuild the already dilapidated Gothic castle in Renaissance style. The main problem in the implementation of this incredible scope of the project was the question of funding. But here, Zacharias shows ingenuity. Having signed a lucrative marriage to a wealthy heiress kind of Wallenstein, he receives the necessary funds and is the best craftsmen from Italy: Antonio Dragging, Baldassare de Magzhi Ronio upgrade the basic structure of the castle, giving it a truly majestic form. It is in this "updated" version Telchsky Castle survived to the present day.Inside the castle interiors were created gradually from 15th to 18th century. Those interiors that have survived since the days of Zacharias reminded of the strong influence of Italian art. And every subsequent owner added to the image of the castle Telchskogo his line.Many of the interiors are still preserved, as preserved and furniture 16-17th centuries.When you visit the castle today, travelers can see the original painting and stucco work of the 16th century. The most impressive interior decoration and painting are the Golden Hall. In addition to the Golden Hall worthy of examination Knights' Hall with antique weapons and hunting trophies, the African room with stuffed African animals captured, and the Imperial Theatre room with coffered interesting.In addition to rooms for parties and receptions in the castle are interested in ordinary dwellings of the nobility ages 17-19, in which not only kept the furniture of those times, but also a rare porcelain, pottery, books, bathrooms and dressing rooms with elements of clothing.Next to the building of the castle chapel of All Saints settled in which Zacharias also invested a lot of effort. Code of the chapel is decorated with stucco and expensive paintings. Later, he was buried inside her own Zacharias and his wife, tombstones spouses executed in the best traditions of the Renaissance: massive stone ornaments, sculptures and stamp marks merchants kind of Hradec.Inspect the exterior facade of the castle can be anyone, but you can get in only if accompanied by an official tour. The duration of a trip average of 60 minutes, the maximum number of people for tours - 45, Minimum - 5 (if the announced time, so is not reached, it is necessary to wait another hour before the next call). During visits to strict rules not to move around the castle itself.
Within the reserve, "Czech Paradise", which is located on the north-east, rises the castle Trosky.The first written mention of the fortress is traditionally referred to as 1396, when its owner was Čeněk Vartenbergsky. About his life we know only that he was born in 1379, and during the first Gusistskih wars (1419-1434 gg.) Was the commander of the army of the royalists.Whatever it was, after the death of Čeněk Vartenbergskogo stronghold captured King Vaclav IV. In world history it is known as Wenzel I, King of Germany, which overthrew the German throne in 1400, as the Czech throne, however, stayed behind.There is also the view that the castle was sold to Vaclav IV during the life of Otto Sr., on account of the enormous debts of the latter.In 1469 the fortress was captured by the royal army, and became the sole center of commerce.Around the same time, the castle is a fire that destroyed almost everything.In 1648 during the Thirty Years' War (1618-1648). Swedes also had a hand in the destruction of Trosky. Destroying everything that was possible, they left the castle.For several centuries the castle forgets he is in ruins. Only in the era of romanticism, in the XIX century, as it will again be remembered. During this period, Trosky is often a source of inspiration for poets and artists.Today the castle is run by the Institute of heritage.To our days the fortress there were only walls of the castle towers and between them. However, the view from these towers are still great. Tours of the castle did not hold, as a rule, a lot of time. They even say that from them could be quite abandoned, because it was not in the history of the castle of some particularly dramatic or historically important events. In part, this is acceptable, the main thing that attracts many visitors to the Trosky - its unusual appearance and location.
by Zhebiton on January 15, 2012
Pershteyn - one of the most interesting and oldest castles Czech Republic, located forty kilometers from Brno. He is buried in the impenetrable forest on a hill located on the river Svratka. The Castle is a powerful, well-fortified building, which is like a guardian, rising above the river valley. Pershteyn fairly well preserved. In the castle complex is the tower, which houses two halls: for the conspirators and the Gothic Knights, a charming tower, called "Varvarushka" triangular shaped palace with a chapel and courtyard. The whole castle is surrounded by deep moats Pershteyn and has four fortified gates. Terrific impression Horned Tower, which can penetrate only at the last floor of the main building on the junction. Horned Tower is one of the most interesting buildings of the castle. Also draw attention to the balcony mashikulyami, encamped at the corners of the tower.Once inside the castle, you will be fascinated by the history of the Middle Ages, passing through the narrow passages that connect the interior of the castle, and vertiginous stairs, having been in these apartments, having become acquainted with courtyards, wells. Hall of conspirators will amaze you with its unusual mosaic.Pershteyn - one of Europe preserved forts built in the Gothic-Renaissance style. Located on the island castle attracts filmmakers of his fabulousness. Therefore, it is held here and is shooting many Czech fairy tales, and historical films.Tourists who choose to read one of the oldest castles Czech Republic, do not regret it. From the heights on which the castle in front of them a magnificent view of the surrounding forests. The castle is in harmony with the landscape. On its walls the ivy weaves, in cracks between stones breaks fern, in a turret of the Falcon family settled.Castle Pershteyn more than seven centuries. It was founded by Stephen nakanune1285 years of Medlova, which is the founder of the clan Pershteynov. Castle Pershteyn seems fabulous. Looking at it, it seems that he just got off the screen, which raged events chivalry. Unlike many other ancient castles, Pershteynu has retained in its original form to this day. Therefore, it is a true monument of the Gothic era. The walls of the castle is a monolith of natural rocks and man-made masonry, which is difficult to distinguish the boundary between them. A striking example of Gothic architecture is a monumental tower of the castle, with its abundance of protruding parts. Sometimes it seems that she does not obey the law of universal gravitation.The interior of the inner part of the fortress is an example of a set of architectural styles: early gothic, baroque, rococo, classicism.In the XIV century race Pershteynov considerably weakened due to internal strife over the succession. Revive the clan began to William I, and his heirs, son and grandson, made a significant contribution to the expansion and strengthening of the castle in the XV-XVI centuries. In 1596 the castle was sold Pershteynami due to the fact that under Wilhelm II, the grandson of William I, had been started a huge renovation of the castle. The castle was converted into a luxury residence with a fully reconstructed rooms and living rooms, decorated in Renaissance style. This reconstruction resulted in a tremendous waste, the genus Pershteynov mired in debt. So they were forced to sell off assets, including the renovated castle.After the sale of the castle Pershteynami, he had several times changed owners. But despite the frequent changes of owners, the castle remained the same view. Minor corrections were made in the style of baroque, classical, but it was reflected in a change in the interior, without affecting the overall exterior design. Yet been built, some outbuildings and a park.Since 1818 the castle was owned by family Mitrovský, who remained its owner until 1945. The plans of these masters of the castle was part of a global restructuring, but these plans were never implemented.On display now are castle tower Barborka, triangular-shaped palace with a chapel, an unusual beauty rooms, decorated with a diamond mosaic, a library containing 6188 volumes, a prison, in which were condemned to death by starvation, torture chamber, an old kitchen.Castle waiting for visitors from April to October inclusive. During the holidays, Saturdays and Sundays at 9:00 and 15:00, September, May, June - except on Mondays, every day - 9.00 to 16.00 In August and July - daily except Mondays from 9:00 to 17:00 pm Lunch here lasts only one hour - 12:00 to 13:00Tour "From Gothic to the 20th century" Adults - 120 CZK Students, children under 6 years - 80 CZK From the tower of the library Adults - 120 CZK Students, children under 6 years - 80 CZK The entire castle (tour lasts 90 minutes) Adults - 180 CZK Students, children under 6 years old - 120 CZK
One of the great assets of the Czech capital is a castle, "Prague Castle". The translation into other languages, it means "strength" of the city of Prague. "Prague Castle" - is the largest castle in the world. Three of the yard, outside the palace complex, a lot of beautiful buildings, situated on its territory is an area of over 7 hectares. In order to examine its territory, tourists will need a lot of energy, since all the sightseeing tours walking. The castle stands on a high hill above the town. We can say that this is a large museum of ancient architecture, situated in the open. The "Prague Castle" a lot of houses and the famous monuments of ancient architecture. Here are the St. Vitus Cathedral, Golden Lane and the Summer Palace of Queen Anne. After going a long way in its history, was laid waste, fire and destruction lock, like a phoenix, risen from the ashes, continually revived.Since 1989, many of the castle were made available to tourists, including the Royal Gardens, a hall for ball games, the imperial stables. "Prague Castle" today is a national monument of culture and the residence of the President.The castle was founded by Prince Borivoj of Premyslid dynasty, about 880 years. In its territory, and today you can see the remains of this church of the Virgin Mary. In the tenth century this place was built the first Bohemian convent and church of St. George, St. Vitus Rotunda, which was subsequently replaced the Basilica of St. Vitus, a well-preserved to this day. During the siege of 1041 the castle was completely destroyed. On the orders of Prince Břetislav in 1135, by stone walls, completed the new building. But seven years later the castle again underwent a siege, and was again destroyed, since the new building proved to be unreliable. Its completely rebuilt, but admitted mistakes and torrential rains in 1280 washed away the northern part of the fortifications.Having lived through the reign of Charles IV, the castle passed into the possession of the Roman Empire. During this period the royal palace was rebuilt again, strengthened defenses and began construction of the Cathedral of St. Vitus. The castle continued to be upset and to expand. However, during the Hussite Wars in the decades following it, he was abandoned and betrayed by desolation.In 1526, the Czech Republic rose to the throne of the Habsburgs. The capital was Vienna, and the "Prague Castle" was to serve mainly for recreational purposes. Is the Renaissance. The castle once again restructured, and its territory appears the royal garden.By order of Rudolf II, who in 1575 became King of Bohemia, the court was moved back to Prague. As conceived by the king castle had become a center of power and art, which would gather artists, diplomats and academics. Began construction of the northern wing, and the Spanish Hall, which was supposed to keep the subject of extensive imperial collection. In accordance with new flavors were rebuilt Cathedral and the Royal Palace, built spacious stables for 300 horses. Along the southern border of the castle were built new homes. However, a fire in 1541 destroyed most of the buildings of the castle. During the long period of wars, the city has rarely been a place of the reigning monarch, so the "Prague Castle" was nearly all destroyed and looted.The last reconstruction of the fortress, affect the overall style of the castle, carried out in the second half of the 18th century. However, the capital was again moved to Vienna, and the building of the castle was abandoned. By the mid-19th century chapel of the Holy Cross, Spanish Hall and Rudolph Gallery were reconstructed as Ferdinand V, who came to power, made the castle a royal residence.Today the "Prague Castle" - is an administrative district of the city and the world's largest area of residence of the presidents of the Czech Republic. Castle lives his life. It always something being completed and reconstructed. Thus, it is supported by an overwhelming state level. Here are kept the crown jewels, relics of the kings of Bohemia, fiction, Christian relics, historical documents, held important state events.Prague Castle is open daily: From 5.00 to 24.00 from April 1 to October 31 From 6:00 to 23:00 from November 1 to March 31When visiting Prague Castle you can use the services of data centers, located in the second and third courtyard.Guided audio guide in foreign languages: English, German, French, Spanish, Italian, Russian.The gardens are open during the summer tourist season. (April 1 - October 31)
Rosenberg Castle is located near the town of Rožmberk nad Vltavou in South Bohemia. Originally the fortress was the residence of the family of Czech aristocrats - the Rosenbergs. The castle was founded at the beginning of the thirteenth century. The first documented mention of the castle dates from the 1253 year. This document is signed "Wok von Rosenberg."Rosenberg over Valta is one of the most beautiful castles in the Czech Republic. The fortress itself is situated on one of the hills Šumava mountains, surrounded on all sides by century-old coniferous forests. Forest encircle the mirrored waters of the Vltava River.Gothic castle building in the history of Rosenberg rebuilt only twice: in the Renaissance and in the 19th century, when fashion reigned at Tudor architecture. Rosenberg's last owners were Byukua - Bohemian nobles, who had French origins. They then made of the castle open to the public museum of bohemian history. The main palace is a unique combination of several architectural eras. It is amazingly beautiful hall in the Renaissance style, with antique wall decorations and the famous "musical niche." Stored in the palace truly unique collection of paintings and furniture of the Baroque style. Pictures contained in the gallery, date from different centuries, beginning with the Renaissance. And in the arsenal of available armor, weapons and emblems.Rosenberg castle was built in the early 13th century. Its founder was from Prchitse Wok, a member of the powerful family Vitkovich. Later Wok of Prichtse began to call himself Wok of Rosenberg.Very soon after its founding, the castle was surrounded by powerful fortifications. He immediately became an economic and administrative center of the family possessions Vitkovich. Some of these lands soon became a Cistercian monastery in the Upper Ford. In 1302 interrupted the younger branch of the dynasty krymlovskaya Vitkovich. Their capital, Cesky Krumlov inherited Wok and soon after moved his residence.Rosenberg took over the castle soon Oldrih II, but in 1420 he was forced to lay the castle of one Austrian family, as Oldrihu II urgently needed money to support his army in the war with the Hussites. It is worth noting that it was the father of Oldrih II of the famous "White Lady". Soon the castle was bought back, but immediately laid back family Lobkowicz. The second loan in time, too, had been paid.In 1600, according to the will of Peter Vok of Rosenberg, the castle and surrounding ownership passed to his nephew, Johan Zrinski. It was rebuilt the castle Zrinski the style of the Renaissance. Soon Johan died and the castle inherited Švamberks, relatives the Rosenbergs. It happened in 1612. However, they soon lost and the castle and surrounding property. They were seized and handed over to the commander of the imperial army, Count Byukua, Charles Bonaventure after the Battle of White Mountain. The main residence was in New Byukua Castle, but he left the castle and Rosenberg with him. Byukua owned the castle until 1945. After the Second World War, during the nationalization of property was confiscated by the castle.In the courtyard of the castle is a museum of torture. Getting to the museum, a person feels very special feeling. Quentin Tarantino's admirers would seem that it was filmed here, "Hostel" because many of the subjects of torture are remarkably similar to the movie set. Exhibits must not be limited to the usual tour. If desired, one can "try the" numerous and extravagant exhibits. Rosenberg Castle is open from May to September, all days except Mondays. In April and October, Rosenberg is working only on weekends.
Sychrov Castle is located about 100 km from Prague, it is called the pearl of the picturesque north Bohemia. This castle is shrouded in mystery and legends about ghosts and belongs to one of the most significant historical buildings in the Czech Republic.The history of the place where the castle is the 15th century. At that time there was located a fort, which was the property of the Czech royal house. In its place in the 16th century stone mansion was built in 1690 - 1693 years in the Baroque style built by the knight Lamotte d'Frintroppom. In 1740 the estate was bought by František of Wallenstein. Nearly eighty years the building was used for agricultural purposes and to accommodate the employee without any substantial changes. The situation changed radically August 30, 1820, when the new owner Sihrova became Duke Charles Alain Gabriel Rohan. Sychrov, however, did not meet the requirements for the residence of the dukes and princes, as a half-ruined castle in baroque style. Duke Charles Alain Gabriel Rohan started the restoration (completed in 1834). Reconstruction of the castle, however, continued, Prince Philip Rohan, thanks to which the neo-Gothic style appeared Sihrova. Romantic neo-Gothic style in 1847 - 1862 years, there is a project of the Academy of Fine Arts Bernard Gruber, in the 19th century Sichrow becomes the most important monument of historical styles. All works were exclusively assigned to the local artists and artisans. The turn of the 20-30s of the 20th century brought to the castle some alterations, which are not only partially changed the look of the building, but its interior. Many rooms have been decorated with richly carved, French embossed wallpapers made from pig skin. Neo-Gothic furniture was replaced with a new and modern.The original Gothic style castle was rebuilt in Baroque style in 1840, when the family settled here Rohan. Duke Kamil Rohan was an avid botanist and collector and to focus all of its interest in the park, collecting rich dendrology and botanical collections. He created a new park, building on its three principal axes of space, which extends from the front of the castle park. The unique path along which stretch pyramidal oaks, leaving the gate and comes to the tower of the church. On the right side of the arboretum is located in the now defunct greenhouses. Here is a rich collection of rare plants, especially many varieties of oaks and beeches. Now updated dendrology collection of the state, by the professional care of trees, as well as the gradual replacement of old and addition of new oak trees on the avenue.A brief description of the buildings located in the park Water towerCylindrical shape of the bare stone walls. From the outside, and consists of three floors. Ground floor with massive stone slabs separated by horizontal stripes. Input is possible on the stairs, the railing is decorated with two huge ball. On the ground floor of the box-shaped arch. Conical roof, with a lantern in the center. This tower was built in 1891 on the draft F. Vordrena. She was an integral part of the water supply system in the castle. At the top of the tower there is a huge water tank, which was fed from the river and subsequently spread throughout the park.GreenhouseThe Orangery is the dominant architectural form of the park. The style of this building does not fit the character of Gothic buildings Sihrova, since it was built in the style of the Italian Renaissance. Was implemented on the project Pruvota Joseph, which was approved by the Duke of Rohan Camille in 1852.Castle of ArthurEnds Park in the north-west. Arthur Castle can be described as an artificial ruin. Until now in question, but when it was built this building because it was already on the cadastral map from 1843 to 1868 years. Its modern form was developed by Joseph Pruvota in 1876. Previously, however, this building was called the «Alte Burg» (Old Castle). Arthur Castle today consists of two cylindrical towers, which are connected to a wall with a gate in the form of an arch of Tudor. North-east tower is wider and lower than its counterpart. The entrances to the towers are in the form of pointed arches.Stone pumpThis is an interesting addition to the park. Also located in the northern part of the park. The pump is made of thick sandstone entangled ivy leaves and ends with a huge crown of branches and foliage.Dovecote This is the second element in the village park. Located near the northern facade of the park. This wooden pebbled roof.Number 7 - Dwelling HouseThis house is located in the southwestern part of the park and the park belonged to the Director. It is currently used as a residential structure. One-storey house has a rectangular shape. House plastered red-tinted plaster.Besides the above mentioned objects in the park, there are five swimming pools, China Lake, a stone fountain for the birds and the Chapel of Our Lady of sandstone.Sychrov Castle is open to visitors all year round, every day, including Monday. From January to March 10:00 - 14:00 April 09:00 - 15:30 May-August 09:00 - 16:30 September-October, 09:00 - 15:30 November and December 10:00 - 14:00Route A is one of the major tours, visitors have access to the interiors of the first floor on the southern, western, northern and eastern wings of the castle.Route B or Wing Bertha and exhibition of interior design. This route passes on the first floor, a narrow staircase.Route C. Tour the rooms on the second floor east wing. The excursion goes on the top floor of the main building of the castle and access is limited to the spiral staircase of the tower Brittany.Taking pictures while visiting the interior of the castle along the route A or B 100CZK Videography during a visit to the castle interior route A or B 100CZK Audio Guide on route A 80CZK
by Zhebiton on December 24, 2011
In the Czech Republic, near the famous health resorts throughout Europe, Karlovy Vary, 120 km west of Prague, located majestic medieval castle Loket. On a high hill, surrounded by small, resembling toys, houses, towers mysterious and majestic castle. It received its name from the word "elbow", because the bend Ohře resembles the shape bent at the elbow human hand. Date of foundation of the castle is not known, presumably it for more than eight hundred years.There are reports that say that the castle was originally built as a border fortress, but over the years of its existence it has served many other functions. And used as a prison and as a residence for the rest of the Czech high-ranking nobility, was an administrative center and a center of trade routes.At present the castle is a historical museum. Inspection of the castle begins with the exhibition of Czech porcelain, archeology continues, then you can go to a museum of weapons, and then waits for visitors to the premises of the former prison, where he currently is an impressive exhibition of torture chambers.On the ground floor of the county administration is an exhibition of archaeological hall with frescoes. At home Markgrafskom placed tombstones of the cemetery and the former Loket Renaissance tombstone of Rabbi Benyamina. He himself is a late Romanesque style. In 1725 the house burned down Markgrafsky, but now it has been restored and there is exhibition of porcelain. In the wing near the medieval tower is a museum of weapons. Especially fascinating vintage wedding hall and ceremonies. It is decorated with portraits of famous people and numerous murals. It is often rented out for weddings, all kinds of balls and other events.In the courtyard that serves a large number of statues of gnomes and other mythical characters. On the area for thrill-seekers held public executions - imitating the old times, different penalty only because it is constantly involved in one and the same girl who, at the request of onlookers could "die" for an encore. Those who like the same unusual experiences offered a gloomy prison, and visit the torture room. Visitors can try on these irons, or sit in a cell designed for inmates. All these cameras are equipped with an arsenal of the martyrdom of the former prison. There, and a display of wax figures, imitating the horrible nightmares of torture and imprisonment.Painted ceilings on the second floor of the castle create an amazing atmosphere of the Middle Ages. A exhibition of Czech porcelain will delight connoisseurs. You can also visit the exhibition of arms and get acquainted with the life of the inhabitants of 12-18 centuries.To attract good luck into your life for tourists are invited to get acquainted with the sculpture of a dwarf Gotshteyna, you just need to touch his mustache. Touching the same club, you can incur the trouble.According to historical records the first stones in the construction of the castle was laid in the 12th century, in the second half. This was done either by King Vladislav II, a ministerial Frederick Barbarossa of I, which by order of the German Emperor yearned to learn and take new ground. Obviously, the castle on the site of a small Slavic town, confirmation of this finding are shtaufskoy architecture.At the site of the present Markgrafskogo home were first building, surrounded by towers, and church was located. Many buildings have not survived to our time. The oldest part of the castle is a Romanesque chapel Loket-rotunda. Its inner diameter of 3.6 meters, and small size are the hallmark of other similar buildings in the Czech Republic. Restorers have found it quite by accident, in the reconstruction of the castle. Previously, she was safely sheltered from the prying eyes of a powerful northern staircase. That chapel indicates the presence of Slavic architecture in the construction of the castle. Until now, historians can not identify the product or shtaufskoy przhemyslovskoy architectural structures were Loket.Since the mid-15th century appearance of the castle gradually changed and acquired features of the Gothic style. At this time, there is often visited the royal person. Architectural value are unusual and semi-cylindrical towers that were built along with new ramparts during the reign of Premysl Otakar II th.From the windows of the castle offers magnificent views of the rich and dense forests of the Czech Republic, on the mountains surrounding the fortress. You can also admire the magnificent river, namely the one which gave the unusual name Loket.Quite a large and beautiful castle in modern times strikes visitors with a special flair and romantic. Up to this day preserved Romanesque castle, though since its erection it has undergone many modifications and changes. In appearance he is a high medieval fortress surrounded by a protective wall. At the bottom of the river flows Orgzhe, which at that time was still a reliable barrier to the walls of the castle.Historians call the three possible founders of the castle: Prince Vladislav II, King Premysl Otakar I and Wenceslaus I. The first mention of Loket dated 1234 year. Originally the castle was built as a fortification against the German invaders. It was a powerful frontier, at that time a major barrier to entry to the Czech Republic.It was in the castle languished in prison the future Emperor Charles IV. Eliska with her mother Przhemyslovnoy here he saw the last time. John of Luxembourg sent it to Miller for a lifetime link. As an adult, Charles IV, despite all the troubles associated with Loket, still liked to stay in the castle. In addition, he often spent his diplomatic meetings here.Vaclav IV, son of Charles IV, has significantly expanded and strengthened the castle, which has increased its defense. In the 15th century castle gradually fell into decay. Loket later transformed into a prison and served that role until the middle of the XX century. Since 1968 the castle was opened Loket Historical Museum.Loket castle shrouded in many stories and legends of extraordinary. Loket Legend tells the story of a terrible dragon that lives in the tower and protecting many ghosts wandering the castle cellars. Another legend associated with the Emperor Charles IV. When the emperor once hunted in the vicinity of the castle, his horse stumbled, and in this place appeared a source of healing. Today, this place works by the famous Czech spa - Karlovy Vary.March - November: running in between 9:00 - 15:30October - April from 9:00 to 16:30 Cost: Guided tours (German, English, Czech, Russian languages) Children, students, pensioners 3,50 € or 75 CZK Adults 4,50 € or 3,50 €, Family ticket 14,50 € or 3,50 €.
Located at some 30 km from Prague old castle attracts tourists from all over the world, to whom he appears in all its glory, discovers secrets hidden rooms, cozy dining room and tea and luxurious main hall. The rich interior of the castle hides the real wealth, which in the course of centuries, were a unique collection of paintings, trophies, furniture and glass. The castle is located in a picturesque location with beautiful views of the legendary mountain Říp, which rose forefather Čech. Behind the walls of the castle you will discover the secrets of the aristocracy of the past centuries, new evidence the country's history and just a lot of interesting facts.Castle Melnik at the confluence of two rivers - the Vltava and Labe - a "ladies' castle", as called locks of this kind. Under the walls of the castle in the Middle Ages found refuge widows and wives of the kings that were rejected by their husbands titled. This situation was not an exception. Monarchs are tired of an unhappy union with the unloved wives and chose their new mistresses. The former Queen at the request of the king were to leave at any castle as far as possible from home. So it appeared the so-called Kingdom City, where women found shelter. However, mistakenly believing that life in the castle was for them a punishment, but rather the opposite. Life in the castle was so interesting and fun, that some wives happily ran back to their husbands titled, whom they regarded as tyrants and despots. Luxury balls and meetings, fun and frolic, women's and gossip - that this is the main pastime of queens in the castle. The reign of Charles IV and marked the heyday of the castle Melnik. While an important role in the development of the state wine industry has played, and Miller was one of the leading wine-producing centers in the country. According to legend, Prince Václav specially brought vines from Burgundy and put her in the castle. After collecting the first crop, he has trained people in making this noble drink. And now a huge collection of wine cellars of the castle are the noblest wines. From a wooden fortress, founded in the IX century, Miller turned in a wonderful castle, which in XVI-XVII centuries it was rebuilt in Renaissance style, and what appears before your guests in our time.Now, as for the past two centuries, the castle is owned by Miller Lobkovitskih princes, each generation has sought to maintain that the old aristocratic tradition and hospitality of the Miller, who were famous throughout the history of the castle. All over the world there are very few residential locks, one of which is the Czech castle Melnik. For visits only open half of the castle, as are the other room owners. Count Lobkowitz himself conducts tours of the castle, telling visitors about the amazing history of the castle and its owners, the collected treasures and wine collections. Visiting the castle is difficult to compare with a visit to other similar sites, palaces and museums. Here every detail is living and breathing, the whole castle imbued with warmth and comfort of a noble aristocratic family. During a visit to the castle you can enjoy fine wine from the wine cellar, which does not leave anyone indifferent even the most discerning connoisseur. Tours are conducted daily and lasted for several hours (from 10.00 to 17.00). Guided tour for up to five people is about 160-180 euros. For tourists hotels and travel agencies offer several options - one is a visit to the castle Melnik and tasting of rare wines and stroll around the castle or combined tours of several castles in the Czech Republic. Whichever option you choose, you can visit the places where history and modernity intertwine, cultures and times. Miller, wearing a truly "ladies" in character, will greet you warmly light halls, flower garlands, collections of paintings in the Baroque style and the famous Czech glass and porcelain. For newlyweds Miller offers a unique opportunity to conduct a wedding in the castle. Romantic atmosphere, great beauty festive halls will spend the most unforgettable wedding, memories of which remain in the hearts of the young couple and their guests for years to come. In addition, Castle Melnik holds within its walls the international music festivals, Jiri Lobkowicz graph. Operas, operettas, symphonies, Verdi, Dvorak, Lehar and other composers are performed by the Czech Symphony Orchestra to all lovers of classical music. Be sure to visit the castle Melnik, you will not regret it!
Czech Republic to the south of Prague on the Vltava river rises the castle Orlik. Its location on the cliff like an eagle's nest. By visiting this castle you can see the exhibition about the life of Schwarzenberg family. The exhibit also presents archaeological findings, which were found in the vicinity of the castle and related to the times of ancient Greece and Troy.The keen interest is a collection of awards and personal weapons Schwarzenberg. Among the exhibits of this exhibition and the things that confirm the friendship of Charles I of Schwarzenberg with Napoleon and the Russian Tsar Alexander I: silver chess, presented by the Emperor of France and beautiful sword, presented to the Russian Tsar.The interior of the castle joined several styles: Romanesque, Gothic, and the new Empire. Here you can admire the old dishes, candlesticks, made in XV-XVII century., Specimens of wood carving, stained glass windows of the Renaissance. Noteworthy Tesco hall with its carved ceiling, made a master Jan Tesco. The castle has an excellent library, numbering eighteen thousand books, including rare here is a set of four books «Le Musée Francais». There are only four sets in the world.Previously, the castle was surrounded by crenellated walls, now Eagle Dam water coming close to the foot of the castle. Conducted on tours of the steamer reservoir allow visitors to see immediately the two locks: Orlik and Zvikov. With water Orlik is especially beautiful.Great fun can be obtained by walking through the picturesque English park, which is divided around the castle, and watching the blooming peacock's tail.On the grounds of the castle housed a mini-zoo aquarium on which you can make at least an interesting walk. Also here there are shops where you can buy souvenirs, located next to a small cafe, car parking is provided.The external decoration of the castle does not differ noteworthy, because originally it was just a fortress. But then, in XIII - XIV centuries, the castle was rebuilt in a Gothic castle. And after a fire in 1508 the castle was rebuilt in Renaissance style. The architectural style of the modern Orlik - Neo-Gothic, created by B. Gruber.The interior of the castle combines several styles: Romanticism, Empire, and the new gothic style. Tenderness and grace differs Blue Room of the castle, which is in the rococo style. The colors of the walls and upholstery of furniture, as well as drawing a ceiling reminiscent of the long-forgotten Gzhel motives. Small salon Empirovy impressive gourmet accurate lines.On the ground floor have been preserved in pristine condition four rooms when they are still a princess of Schwarzenberg was forced out in 1948. The first floor of the castle presents the history of the family Schwarzenberg. Here you can see photos, pedigrees, collection orders, which the family received for his services, both diplomatic and military. Interior supplement generic portraits, ceramics, collection of arms. Along with personal items you can see a collection of archaeological finds discovered in the vicinity zamkaTeskov Hall - one of the most unusual romantic rooms of the castle. Walls, ceilings, and doors of this room are made of oak, lime, pear and walnut, decorated with wonderful carvings done by master Jan Tesco.Impressive and Schwarzenberg coat of arms, which is made from one piece of lime, and it is located above the fireplace Arms hall.The history of the castle is connected with the legend, which tells the story of how one robber eagle was kidnapped child. Thief took the child in her nest on the cliff. Fortunately, his father, the child was found alive and unharmed. To mark the occasion, and a fortress was built Orlik. It was in the XIII century, at the end of the reign of King Premysl Otakar Czech Republic II. At first it was a small fortress, guarded the ford across the Vltava. In those days, for the use of the ford had to pay, so the castle Orlik was the personification of the mighty power of the king. It represented a one-storey building. According to the archaeological excavations in the fortress were settlements. In the XIV century fortress was surrounded by a fortress wall. At that moment the whole structure of the present castle consisted of a residential area, located in the southwest wing, and towers, with a diameter of ten meters, the tower was located in the center of the western wall. Since it controlled all entrances to the castle. The south wall was erected at that time the chapel and hunting hall.During its existence the castle survived more than one fire. As a result of the reconstruction carried out in the XVI century, was completed one more floor. The last renovation of the castle was carried out in 1849-1869, respectively, the whole process works led architect B. Gruber. The result of this renovation was the conversion of a small Roman fortress in neo-Gothic white four-door. This type of lock is saved to this day.If you believe the old legend, in ancient times in the impenetrable forests on the banks of the Vltava River was operating band of daring robbers. Their chieftain, whose name was Old Man, was there with his wife and young son. But his wife died suddenly from an illness, and he remained with a small child. In order to carry out attacks, Ataman has found for her son's nanny. But back to the next case, Ataman not found neither a son nor a nurse. One of the young thieves climbed a high rock, which had fallen asleep from exhaustion. And woke his child crying. This eagle's nest in the missing boy was crying. After this chieftain decided to move away from the robber cases, and people loyal to him have decided to build on their existing strength of the robbery money and serve their chieftain. And there was a castle Orlik.Since 1719, this castle is the ancestral nest noble family Schwarzenberg. Orlik Castle is interesting because it is still inhabited. He is currently owned by a descendant of Karl Schwarzenberg family VII. With the will of the current owner, the castle is open to tourists. Tourists have the opportunity to get acquainted with interesting exposition of the castle, which tells the history of Schwarzenberg family and emphasizing the personal qualities of its founder, Carl Philipp Schwarzenberg. And also take a walk on a beautiful English garden, broken up around the castle.Hours: the main tourist season runs from April to October. April - 9.00 to 16.00 in May to 17.00 June, July and August - from 9.00 to 18.00 October - from 9.00 to 16.00, and in September to 17.00. Tour of the castle lasts 50-60 minutes, last tour begins one hour before the end of the opening.You can order a full tour, including a visit to another castle Zvikov. Moving from one castle to another will be along the river on a boat, except April, September and October. In these months, relocation will be provided on the bus. Duration of the tour is nine hours and cost - € 50 for adults and € 40 for children.
Zamek Litomysl located in the same city is a monumental architectural composition of the era of the great masters of the Renaissance. Construction of the castle lasted from 1568 to 1581 years. Litomishlsky lock - an outstanding and immaculately preserved example of an arcade castle. For the first time, the projects on construction of the castle, were developed in Italy, then, to create a fundamentally new type of evolutionary architectural structure, supplemented and modified in the Czech Republic. The noble dynasty Pernštejn, restored the original medieval castle, made in the Renaissance style in the second half of the 16th century. Despite the renovation, which took place later in the late 18th century, the main architectural composition of the castle has remained practically intact. The castle is an asymmetric three-story building with four wings. External facades of buildings decorated with paintings, with application of the stones that imitate diamonds. The windows of the castle have jumpers and wide moldings. The main portal on the south facade of the building is a semicircular arch, which is framed by two double columns and flat lintel with the arms and dynasties Pernštejn Marnikiz de Lara. Above the cornice is an attic and a pediment with pilasters. Windows and lock lugs are squat base, column and small investments. Well-preserved chapel, made in a similar style to the main buildings. The central elements of the facade of the chapel, located on the grounds of the castle are arched windows and a tower with a pyramidal roof. As for the interior of the castle, then, and here, the main style of the Renaissance began. However, some rooms designed in Baroque and neo-classical. We present these trends in the design of the walls and ceiling, as in paintings and original furniture. In many rooms, especially on the first floor are collections of works of the famous artist of the - Wallenstein Dominic Dvorak. The works of this master - classic geometry and murals with landscapes. Located on the first floor of the castle, tourists can admire the stunning furniture, in the best traditions of the empire of the 19th century: the combination of massiveness and, simultaneously, sophistication, making every detail of the interior work of art. The park of the castle survived Litomishlskogo all ancillary buildings in the style of baroque and neo-classics: a brewery, two stables, riding school, a chapel, outbuildings.Today, the castle is a favorite place Litomishlsky not just for art lovers, but also for future newlyweds who have decided to hold a wedding celebration in a unique atmosphere of luxury and mystery. Zamek Litomysl offers several rooms for the celebration: Weddings in the auditorium of the theater; Weddings in the Chapel; Wedding in the dungeon; Weddings in the park.Schedule: April: Saturday, Sunday and public holidays - 10:00 to 16:00, last tour at 15:00; May: Tuesday - Friday - 10:00 to 16:00, last tour at 15:00; Saturday, Sunday and public holidays - 10:00 to 17:00, last tour at 16:00; June, July and August: Tuesday - Sunday - 9:00 to 17:00, last tour at 16:00; September: Tuesday to Friday - 10:00 to 16:00, last tour at 15:00, Sunday, holidays - 10:00 to 17:00, last tour at 16:00; October: Saturday and Sunday - 10:00 to 16:00, last tour at 15:00;
by Zhebiton on December 17, 2011
Ancient hunting lodge located in Krivoklat Berun Valley near the town of Rakovník, which is 40 kilometers from Prague. It was built in the 11th century to the princes Přemyslid to princes could come here to hunt and rest with his retinue. Now the former hunting grounds - a nature reserve protected by UNESCO.For the 900-year history of the castle changed owners several times, finishing work which, at its discretion. In the 13th century fort early Middle Ages were replaced by stone castles, and there began the construction of the castle with ramparts and dungeon, the majestic tower, which has been preserved until our time. Later, new towers were built, rectangular palace with castles, from which there were only memories in the form of the Romanesque windows of the ground floor.In the early 13th century, Premysl Otakar ordered here were built outbuildings at the top of the castle attached wings, and the lower part of the palace was reconstructed. After locking Krivoklat undergone several transformations, resulting in the received view the Gothic castle of the early period. Large main hall occupied the first floor west of the palace as a whole. As a result, by the end of ownership Přemyslid Krivoklat was complicated structure of seven parts, with three towers and a set of premises.In the 14th century castle owned by a nobleman William of Waldeck Zayits and when there was a large fire, the castle was badly damaged. Zayits not involved in the restoration of the castle could not hold its destruction. The catastrophic decline of the castle did not like the King Charles IV, and he decided to return it to the Crown. He understood the strategic importance of this place and in the last years of commissioned major restructuring Krivoklat. Led to the castle is now a new wide road, the area of the castle as a whole has been increased. Girdle castle wall has increased its defense.Son of Charles IV - Václav IV made Krivoklat a representative castles of its time. But the fire of 1422 and the subsequent seizure of Krivoklat Catholic and Hussite troops inflicted irreparable damage to the building.The heyday of the castle Krivoklat came in the 15th century, when it became the residence of King Vladislav Jagiellonian. When it acquired the image of late-Krivoklat castle. Vehny castle was rebuilt entirely between the locks were removed once built a wall, built a chapel with a carved wooden altar. Bay windows and a magnificent arch transformed the Great Hall. Installed on the parapet reliefs with portraits of King Vladislav and his son Louis. After the adjustment has become a luxury residence Krivoklat, but it was not a place of royal celebrations, but a place of solitude and rest of the monarch. In the future Czech kings, for unknown reasons, today belonged to the castle with disdain. For example, during the reign of Rudolf II in the castle prison for fraud has settled a noble family and state criminals. In the Round Tower Krivoklat few years was imprisoned alchemist Edward Kelley, the Bishop Community of Czech brothers Ian August.Good place, plenty of high-quality barley, hops, water - all contributed to the development and prosperity of the plant. But in the 17th century castle and steel plant does not need the Habsburgs.In 1658, Krivoklat was given as a pledge Schwarzenberger, then sold Arnošt Joseph Wallenstein and finally Furstenberg, who again took up brewing.In the second half of the 19th century castle Krivoklat began to restore, which was attended by architects Josef Mokker, Humbert Walcher von Molteyn, Camila Hubert. But in 1929, became owner of the castle Krivoklat state.Excursion to the castle starts with the first courtyard, where the first thing that catches your eye - a reservoir of metal with wrought ornament on the perimeter and a carved wooden roof.Next - the big old wooden barrels, which once kept the beer.The massive entrance to the castle is paved with stone blocks and stairs carved out of solid slabs of sandstone.A few rooms remained stained glass windows, windows with bars, hexagon door locks with forged and painted panels. And unique specimens of furniture - such as a table inlaid with different woods, emerging in the image Krivoklat. The most magnificent building - the Royal Hall, which is second in size only to the Old Palace Vladislav Prague.Castle chapel is almost unchanged. Carved altar in the style of the flaming Gothic chair armrests are made in the form of dragons, symbolizing evil. The wooden sculpture in the chapel has always attracted attention - care work is simply amazing - on track, on the death of the Virgin Mary, carved images, and all 20 people that size meter in size!The interior of the wing is devoted to the queen of the castle dweller Philippine Welser, and imbued with the spirit of the Renaissance. In the gallery you can admire the works of masters of the ages 16-20 - genre scenes, landscapes, still lifes, portraits of historical figures.The library contains more than 53 Krivoklat tyasyach volumes, including the old and unique publications, such as the Psalms of the 11th century.The library work showrooms. In one exhibit works of ancient sled with openwork carving and painting in baroque style. There is a sledge for women with an interesting design. Under the seat there was a box, lined inside with metal, in which red-hot bricks piled up, so the seat was warm for a long time.Also in the exhibition hall you can see a collection of ancient craft of flags and banners with peaks at the top.A large tower of the castle retains traces of the time when the Krivoklat came hunting - hunting equipment is located, pictures, FK and J. E. Pausingera Ridingera, stuffed animals, cart, Charles IV, the father of Maria Theresa.Most tower itself is impressive for its size: the height of 32 meters, the exterior walls a thickness of 9 meters, 3 meters inland. Penetrate it was only possible through a hole on the 15-meter height, using a ladder.The castle is open: in April, September, 09.00-16.00 daily except Monday; May - August, 09.00-17.00, daily except Monday; in October, 09.00-15.00 daily except Monday; in November - December (before 20.12) 09.00-15.00 only on weekends and holidays; 20.12 to 01.04 Castle closed to visitors.
Kromeriz is located on the site existed in the past across the river Morava, at the foot of the mountain massif Chřiby, towering over the central part of Moravia. City of Kromeriz (Kremzir in German or in English Kromerits) was founded in 1260 Bruno of Schaumburg, Bishop of Olomouc, who suffered a back portion of the diocese. The city was severely damaged as a result of the Thirty Years' War, and twice plundered by Swedish troops. After the war, Bishop Charles II of Liechtenstein built a city and re-restored palace. Gardens and Castle Kromeritsa - an exceptional architectural complex, well-preserved example of the magnificent buildings in the style of European baroque gardens.The story started in Kromeriz c settlement in the valley of the Morava River in the IX century in the Great Moravia. For the first time he is mentioned in writing (a village) in 1110, when it was purchased by Bishop Johann olomoutsskim II. Located at the intersection of trade routes, Kromeriz in 1266 by decree of King Premysl Ottokar Czech II declared a city in the same year, it built the castle. In 1290 there entered the city rights.During the Hussite Wars Hussites Kromeriz has been a mainstay in Moravia. Was returned olomoutsskim bishops only in 1456. In 1467-1471 years the city is at the center of hostilities between the armies of the Bohemian King George of Podebrady and the Hungarian King Matthias Corvinus.In 1497 Stanislav Thurzo became bishop of Olomouc. He started the reconstruction and modernization of his castle at Kromeriz. At first this work was carried out using a late-Gothic of the time, but the elements of the Renaissance began to leak as work progresses. Bishop Thurzo also created a garden that includes an orchard, vegetable garden and flower garden, which was highly appreciated by King Vladislav II, when he visited Kromeriz in 1509.Successors Thurzo made minor changes and additions to his castle. The castle suffered during the Thirty Years' War, when the city was sacked by the Swedish army in 1643. Two years later the city was struck by an outbreak of plague. In 1664, the fate of the city began to change when Count Karel of Liechtenstein became bishop of Olomuts. He wanted the city exuded aristocracy, and so he spent a lot of construction projects, as well as compelling the burghers to rebuild their buildings and equipment.It has attracted a talented architect Filiberto Lyuchesse, who developed a brand new Garden of Pleasure (Lustgarten) to the bishop, as well as voostanovitsya ruined castle back into the living state. When Lyuchesse died in 1666, his work fell into the hands of his successor as imperial architect Giovanni Pietro Tencalla.Once the garden was completed in 1695, the architect engaged in designing and building a magnificent episcopal castle. This was to be his masterpiece in the tradition of the Italian Baroque. Meanwhile, Bishop Charles was engaged in furnishing the interiors and create an art gallery, which contains many masterpieces.The main building of the castle - the free-standing structure with four wings around a central courtyard in the shape of a trapezoid and rises to three storeys. The first floor is located on a high platform built to compensate for uneven ground. It was originally surrounded by a moat filled in 1832. The interior of the first floor, as usual, smart, where were located the main room - the Throne Room, conference room and two dining rooms, second floor - guest rooms, a library, a vassal or feudal hall and chapel. In the garden of the castle there is a small terrace in the Baroque style (giardino segreto), which runs a corridor with arcades with double staircase, known as the colonnade, and Colloredo was built in 1795.In the castle a lot of interesting things. Art Gallery - one of the largest in the Czech Republic, keeps a picture of Van Dyck and Titian, Cranach, and Aachen, as well as other artists of fifteenth - eighteenth centuries. No less interesting is the collection and graphs and drawings.Castle Library is also one of the most valuable repositories of Czech books. It contains manuscripts and early printed books, as well as the old edition of the sixteenth - eighteenth centuries.And another most valuable collection contains Kromeriz Castle - music. Karl Liechtenstein gathered here original works of artists such as Haydn, Mozart and others.The castle is stored and also collection of medals and coins. There are coins of the Pope, bishops and the Archbishop's medal made of silver and gold. True, the visitors will see only a small part of this kollektsiiyu.Visitors can see the castle rooms: Parliamentary ТронныйОхотничийПарадныйЦарскийОсобенно beautiful room with its murals on the ceiling, as well as Pink Salon.And in the castle Kromeriz interested in visiting wineries, known as the Archbishop and kept up to date. Bishop's Castle is open from 9 to 5. Kroměříž gardens, a majestic castle and a picture gallery of the castle included in the lists of world cultural heritage by UNESCO.
Zamek Cesky Krumlov is one of the most popular and revered monuments in Central Europe. Due to its majestic appearance, the original architectural layout and interior decoration of an innovative lock brings its guests in the medieval era of evolution of European architecture.The fort was named in honor of its founder Lord of the genus Vitkovich Krumlov. The monumental complex of the castle of Cesky Krumlov, as it is known locally, is located on a rocky spur of the medulla. On the south side it bends around the Vltava River in the north - a river Polechnitse. In general, the castle includes 40 buildings and palaces, centered around five courtyards and seven acres of gardens. The total area of Cesky Krumlov is more than 11 hectares, which makes it possible to assign it to one of the most extensive castles of Europe.Conventionally, the fortress is divided into five parts - respectively courtyards. The first courtyard of the castle Krumlovskogo separated from the town lined with rustic arch of red gate with a wooden portal banners and arms of the Schwarzenberg dynasty. The design dates from the 1861 building.To the right of the Red Gate is the economic structure, made in Gothic style with a truss roof structure. This salt storage (house number 57 - Solnice). For many centuries the building was constantly changing his appointment, in 1511 it was used as a malt-house, in the XVI century - as a barn, in 1723 the building was transformed into a salt warehouse, but since 1876 it is being used as service apartments.On the other side of the Salt storage is another old building with a facade, made in the Renaissance (house number 46 - Nova lekarna), which, in 1629 and the end of the XIX century was owned by a dynasty Eggenberg and served as a "housing the master physician." Only in 1915, settled here a local pharmacy.The second courtyard begins at the mighty bastions that were built back in 1620 the chief of the imperial garrison of the castle Ferdinand de Carrara Karratha on the eve of the Thirty Years War vague. The vertices of facilities adorn the terrible Lions Supporters, with the arms of Joseph Adam of Schwarzenberg. Previously, the space II-nd courtyard called the Lower Castle and consisted of a Small City with the tower, which is considered the most prominent and important building yard, the New burggrafstva, mint and oil mills. The modern look of its territory acquired after 1640, when all the buildings were rebuilt in medieval style "renaissance."The original rich appearance Architecture II-nd courtyard acquired during the reign of Wilhelm of Rosenberg. In 1580 the architect Baltazar Maggi of Arogno implemented an ambitious reconstruction of houses and towers, replacing rannegotichesky style to the "renaissance". A famous artist in those days, Bartholomew Beranek in 1591 painted a mythical paintings Castle Tower and Little Castle.III-rd courtyard of the castle of Cesky Krumlov, formerly called the Upper Castle, connected to the second courtyard, a narrow passage decorated with three coats of arms - rozhmberkskim, eggenbergskim and braniborgskim. The external facade of the palace complex of the Upper Castle in 1575 was decorated with frescoes, depicting allegorical and mythological scenes from Greek and Roman history. In the center of the courtyard is an old chapel of St. George and St. Catherine.IV-th building of the courtyard was built in the middle of the XIV to the XVIII century. Almost to the present day complex of palace architecture was preserved in its original version, which allows you to read the original works of architect Baltazar Maggi Arogno, Eritsera Vlach and artist Gabriel de Blonde.The greatest interest in the castle of Krumlov is the first V-yard, which is a magnificent Baroque castle theater with summer and winter riding hall, built in 1684 by decree of the Prince of Yan Christian I of Eggenberg. Luxurious plaster decoration theater and attached to it in 1570, the Renaissance home completed by the famous Czech sculptor Jan Antonín Zinner and architectural modeler Matthias Andre.The first mention of the castle Krumlov found in the ballad "Der Frauendienst", written by an Austrian knight Ulrich of Liechtenstein in the period from 1240 to 1242 years. And the name «Chrumbenowe» was first used in the charter of the Duke of Austria and shtirskogo Otakar. Since the inception of the palace became the residence of Vitka Krumlov from a noble family Vitkovich. The castle was decorated with coat of arms of the aristocratic dynasty - a rose with five petals.In 1302, he died last representative of the kind of "Lords of Krumlov," and the castle passed into the possession of relatives Vitkovich - Rosenberg family. For three centuries, the Board of new owners Krumlovsky castle became the seat of the most luxurious palace of the Renaissance in the Bohemian kingdom.But at the end of the XVI century during the reign of his son Yoshty of Rosenberg and Anna Wilhelm of Roggendorfa Cesky Krumlov because of costly maintenance fell into decay because of what Rosenberg decided to sell the fortress of Emperor Rudolf II Habsburg dynasty.In turn, the Emperor of Austria gave the castle to Prince Jan Oldřich Eggenberg, MDM family of Cesky Krumlov belonged to three generations. In the 60s of the XVII century, Jan Christian Eggenberg I reconstructed the castle into a luxurious residence of the Baroque.In 1719 Krumlovskaya strength goes into possession of the princely Schwarzenberg family. The most important representative of this castle for seven was Prince Josef Adam of Schwarzenberg, who gave the court of Vienna's imperial residence features.In 1947, all property Schwarzenberg dynasty, including Krumlovsky castle becomes the property of, and later owned by the state of Czechoslovakia.Cultural monument of medieval architecture Krumlov castle was only in 1989, and three years later Zamek Cesky Krumlov was listed as World Heritage by UNESCO.
In the south of Moravia, 12 km from the village of Mikulov and about 50 km from the city of Brno, on the right bank of the river Dyje the castle Lednice. Surrounded by a wonderful French garden and English park, the castle is considered one of the romantic attractions of the Czech Republic.For the first time mention of a place "Ayssgrub" (with it. "Ice Pit"), found in documents in 1222. Once there was a fortress built to protect the river crossing. In 1412 it received its present name "Lednice", which translated from the Czech means "icy river." A hundred years later the castle is owned by the family of Liechtenstein.In the 16th century castle was rebuilt into a Renaissance castle, which was later reconstructed the Viennese architect Fischer in the Baroque style. At the time of Neo-Gothic reconstruction 1846-1858 period, according to the developed plan Jiri Vingelmyullera, castle acquired its present form. The walls are done in the Baroque style, remained intact, but the facades of the buildings were remodeled and completed buildings with different elements - balconies, arches, turrets. The atmosphere of the castle as well sustained in the neo-Gothic style - ornate staircase in the library, inlaid ceiling of a lime tree in the Blue Hall, marble fireplaces and other items of interior decoration.In the castle complex "Lednice" a museum of Agriculture, stored in it with a unique head mammoth. Here you can admire the ruins of the decorative "Janohrad." Interesting Moorish mosque with a minaret, built by architect Joseph Hardmuta. In its rooms had kept East collection, which unfortunately does not come down to our days. On the minaret can not climb out of the dilapidated structure, but from his gallery you can admire the magnificent views of the surrounding neighborhoods.The entire complex in 1996 is included in UNESCO's cultural heritage, and only protective ensemble recorded a list of 37 objects.During its existence the castle Lednice several times changed its appearance. In the 16th century, his appearance was a building of the Renaissance. In the era of the Thirty Years' War, Swedish troops after the attack, the castle was severely damaged. Then it destroyed parts were rebuilt in baroque style.Reconstruction was carried out until the mid-18th century. During this period the castle was reconstructed and supplemented by various buildings and architectural elements. However, some of the old buildings have retained their original appearance. Fashion for the gothic style of the newly transformed the look of the castle. Today he is considered the most romantic building in the Czech Republic. Neo-Gothic style and is pronounced in the adjacent park. Reconstruction touched alleys - between two buildings of the complex were built English conservatories, Moorish minaret, which served as a lookout tower.Located next to the castle Valtice was also owned by Liechtenstein. As Lednice he also suffered from the Swedish guns. However, all damaged items have been restored in Baroque style. Valtice became the residence of the noble family.In the 16th century castle, both joined in the Lednice-Valtice. At its creation Liechtenstein family has spent several centuries. However, the final image set acquired in the 19th century. This was the era heyday of Romanticism. She brought in a complex aqueduct, made by the Roman model, empirical church of the "Three Graces", the temple of the "Apollo" and "Border" lock.Lednice-Valtice surrounded by picturesque countryside. But for residents of nobles that were not enough, so the owners have built a glass conservatory, a length of nearly 100 meters. The entire area of greenhouses were planted in subtropical and tropical exotic plants, native to South America.In the late 17th century was an artificial cave, equipped with artificial stalactites. Its area covers 90 square meters. At present, it satisfied enchanting show.In the early 19th century was built a hunting lodge. Its four corner towers, form a courtyard, a terrace of single-storey buildings provides an opportunity to see the passing hunting.An old gothic castle Lednice originally belonged to the powerful nature of the Austrian princes Orphan. However, they quickly lost all rights to it. For several centuries this place was inhabited by Germans. Then the castle became the property of the Marquis Premysl and he gave it to Prince Liechtenstein. Thanks to the entrepreneurial acumen, the prince soon became rich and collected enough money to build a unique lock. Princes of Liechtenstein owned it for more than six centuries - until the end of World War II. In 1943 the family took out the lock all valuables. Suffered most of the interior decoration of the castle. Fortunately, they left the old furniture that is unique in the library staircase, carved from a solid wood. Remained on the walls and the original Chinese wallpaper.In subsequent years the palace complex belonged to the state. In 1996 he was awarded the UNESCO World Heritage status. Now the complex is national property. On the ground floor of the castle are residential princely room, which offers tours. The second floor given over to children's art gallery.
by Zhebiton on December 4, 2011
Zhleby Castle - the famous feudal patrimony Lyuhtenburgov. The name originates from the word castle Zhlaba, which means "mouth of the river." Castle is located in the Czech Republic, 25 km from the popular tourist town of Kutna Hora. This is a romantic building stands on the banks of the river Doubrava menacingly dominating all the surrounding areas.Zhleby Castle is considered to be the most harmonious structure throughout the Czech Republic, which attracts tourists not only for its beauty, but also ghosts. The legend of ghosts takes its origin from the 19th century when, according to the story, here died tragically governess. Since then, her spirit wanders the Dead of the castle and has all its visitors.Zhleby Castle - one of the most unique buildings Romanticism. The architecture of the castle their home looks like a medieval knight gallant. Every visitor who crosses the threshold of the castle is in an old tale with lovely ladies and brave warriors.At the entrance to the castle, over the gate, you can see the head of bison, which is carved from sandstone. According to legend, the representative of the noble family Auershpergov bare hands victory over fierce aurochs, and now, a sign of respect, sculpture animal emblazoned on the gates of the castle. Before the doors is a wonderful fountain, near which are two marble pillars imported from Pompeii.The courtyard is surprising not only for its beauty, but also the Renaissance arcades. Here is a monument to Karl Vincenz Auershpergu, and over the columns of the second floor are emblems of all the owners of this magnificent castle.Chapel - a repository of sculptures and altars. You can get to it through a separate entrance leading from the courtyard of the castle. Here are the most attractive antique stained glass windows.Zhleby visitors in the first hall, meets a knight on horseback, who dressed in medieval armor. They weigh about 40 pounds. Interestingly, the climb on a horse in the armor alone was not possible.One of the most interesting exhibits is an Italian castle Zhleby sword of the executioner, whose name bugloss. In addition, in the castle as well, there are the most ancient exhibits of weapons during the Hussite wars. An impressive collection of arms as supplemented by the coronation of Emperor Ferdinand I. The sword of Habsburg, which is decorated with gold and silver.In the main room of the castle you can see the painting and the interior features of the romantic era. Here you can find items made of porcelain, German and Czech glass. The magnificence of rooms, unique antique furniture, intricate wall patterns and wallpapers buckskin - all it does lock Zhleby worthy of attention.It is surrounded by a beautiful park, a walk through which will be an excellent complement to the tour. Here is a rare species of red deer - white. According to legend, to see such a deer - fortunately. Huge rhododendrons bloom in the park. This is complemented by an amazing sight and an artificial waterfall.Tour of the castle Zhleby accompanies tourists on an ancient chapel, luxurious hall, Knight's Hall and the verandah. As guests of the castle and wait for the blue room, Tyrolean room, red room, gallery, bedroom and a large tower. Time to visit the castle Zhleby: In April, the castle is open to the public from 9.00 to 16.30 From May to June, from 8.00 to 17.30 From July to August, with 8.00 18.30 In September, the castle is open to the public from 9.00 to 17.30 In September, for tourists the opportunity to conduct tours at night. In October, 9.00 to 16.30 The castle is closed from November to March.
Narrow fortress located on Zvikov confluence of two rivers Vltava and Ostrava. The castle was founded by Premysl Otakar I, he died in 1230, and at that time was built the present tower Glizovaya. The first written mention of the castle belongs to 1234, is described by Count Conrad of Yanovis, during the reign of Wenceslas I.The oldest part of the castle is a massive quadrangular tower Glizova. This tower was conceived as a corner element, which should fit the wings of the castle. Wing for the church was built in the reign of King Wenceslas I. And with the help of Premysl Otakar II added four wings, which is unusual layout of the time. The castle was inhabited many cozy rooms, especially in the north and west wings, and in the east wing housed a large hall representative. In the south wing on the ground floor is a beautiful chapel of St. Wenceslas - The Czech Gothic. All halls and rooms connected with each other Arkadovymi galleries. The south side of the castle strengthened bergfrit - powerful tower to attack, put in place the expected capture. The entrance to the castle Zvikov located to the south through the tetrahedral Pisetsky gate guarded by sinking bridge and gates iron, from the north, built as a powerful portal.Until 1306 the castle has ruled race Premysl, and at the end of their reign over the castle looked after and managed it Bavor III. After the assassination of King Wenceslas III hail fell into the hands of Indriha Rozhemberga. In 1337 the castle was bought by Charles Zvikov, who restored it.In 1429, during the Hussite wars, the castle was besieged by Hussite warriors and heavily damaged by shots, but to break the walls of the castle as anyone, and failed. After that in 1437 Sigmund Zvikov Knight changed their possessions with Rozhemberkami. After the conquest of the castle urgently needed in the reconstruction of the defensive system, and therefore on the north side of the building had been built against kamnemetnyh machines, which includes six bastions surrounded by a moat depth. And the castle belonged to the genus Rozhemberkov until 1573, and in 1576 Emperor Maximilian II sold the castle Shvambergam. A dynasty Shvambergov in the 40s of the XVI century the beginning of reconstruction of the castle in Renaissance style. The facades of the palace were covered by the internal painting, and in the courtyard built their brewery. The castle has a new wing with new gates and a stamp room. And some have been rebuilt tower. The greatest dawn reached the castle during the reign of Peter the Protestant Svanberka, which is very closely followed the increase in their strongholds. After his death the castle for a long time to remain operational in late 1622 signed a final peace treaty. A royal commission, sent to the city for the confiscated property transported Svamberkov, found the castle empty. Since then, he began his history of destruction.In 1623 the castle was sold to the genus Egenbergov. Then resold them belonged to the Schwarzenberg and from 1719 to 1748 then lock into a warehouse for grain and gradually began to crumble. But in 1840 it was restored a native of Schwarzenberg.In the 1810s began, the complete reconstruction of the castle. And it was transformed into a romantic look. Gradually upgraded interior arches in a large tower, rebuilt stairs and roof. A complete set in order the lock only in the 1900s.And in the 60th and 70th years of XX century dam was built in the Orlik was a great Orlikskoe lake that hid the walls of the castle and church of St. Nicholas, and deprived the right to be called King Zvikova Czech castles.In the XIX century, some scientists have speculated that the castle was built in the Romanesque period, because of unusual stones, and that this made the German tribe Marcomanni.There is a small story about the name of the castle. She says that far from the castle Melnik, Mount Spike settled forefather Čech. And his daughter with his beloved fled from the wrath of his father. A long time they wandered through the dense forests, and came to a beautiful location on the banks of the Vltava River. At this place they were to live here and they had kids. Once returning from the hunt, the forefather Čech lagged behind her companions, and saw two beautiful children and a woman that came to him, he recognized his daughter. He forgave her act and called home, but his daughter refused, saying he was accustomed to this place and to such a life. And in memory of these people named the place Zvikov, the word "zvik" - a habit.Now tourists can admire the paintings on the walls in the chapel of St. Wenceslas, marriage hall, which is the biggest value of the castle, an altar of worship of the Three Kings in the throne room and ancient structures.
Karlstejn Castle or simply Karluv Tyn, as it is called the indigenous population, is the most popular castle in the Czech Republic. Located near the Prague Castle this Gothic era of Emperor Charles IV affects the magnificence of its architecture. Castle Karshteyn not just an ordinary residence of Czech rulers, its history for more than six centuries, is inextricably linked with the destiny of the country.Karlstejn Castle was founded in the middle of XIV century (1348 g). By order of the King of Bohemia and Holy Roman Emperor Charles IV in the high limestone rock near the river channel Berounka was laid the foundation of a new imperial summer residence of the Gothic style. Construction of the castle was not only important for the king, but was held under his personal control. A foundation stone was laid by his friend the Archbishop of Prague Arnošt (he was also the acting advisor to Charles IV). The project of the castle in the classic Gothic style was designed by French architect Matvei Arras. His project involves the principle of stepwise arrangement of buildings: each successive construction of the castle is located slightly above the previous one, and the crown of the ensemble is a large tower with a chapel of the Holy Cross. For the construction of a main building and strengthening of the walls took almost two decades. However, without waiting for completion of construction, already in 1355, Charles IV populated in Karlstejn. Surrounded by pristine forests then, an elegant white stone castle came to taste the emperor. He was able to retire to a new residence and to reflect on the fate of the country, without going far away from the capital (the distance from Prague to Karlstejn is only 30 km.) After another ten years - in 1365 - is the consecration of the "heart of the castle," the Chapel of the Holy Cross.Simultaneously with the completion of construction were actively working on finishing the interior of the castle and decorate the interior. The emperor did not skimp on the situation of the castle, since he would be not only the usual residence, but a symbol of wealth and of the Holy Roman Empire. Worked on the interiors of Karlstejn such famous artists as Tommaso da Modena and Master Theodoric. On the other hand has been given enough attention and defense of the castle. For his defense has been allocated a special garrison vassals, knights, who always lived near the castle in the estates. Their primary concern was the defense of the castle, they were obliged to come to the defense of the royal walls on the first call. Another garrison vassals exercised standing guard at the gates and watch towers on the walls: their task was to warn of impending danger.Karlstejn Castle was originally built not only as a summer residence of the emperor, but also as a future treasure works of art. This is where the treasures were kept of the Holy Roman Empire, the imperial regalia and sacred relics. Charles IV was an avid collector, so the treasury constantly replenished with new exhibits. Especially valuable are the holy Christian relics: holy spear of Longinus, two thorns from the crown of Christ, a piece of wood from the cross of Christ, etc. Of course, such relics and need special protection, so the castle built the so-called Grand Tower, the thickness of the walls of which was four meters, and the doors were locked with iron locks with clever arrangements. In addition, some parts of the castle itself can be equated to the works of art. For example, the very Chapel of the Holy Cross, which was located in the upper part of the Great Tower. By order of the Emperor in its design using semi-precious stones (jasper, carnelian, agate), gold, exquisite Venetian glass and gold-plated chain. Later in the chapel and there was the famous portrait gallery with images of the prophets "Only Heaven troops." In 1436, Karlstejn loses most of its treasures: the Emperor Sigismund them are transported to Prague and Vienna. Later part of the Bohemian regalia returned to the place, and most of the treasures of the Roman Empire is still preserved in Vienna.Time has not spared Karlstejn, and by the middle of the XVIII century castle look very "seedy." Emperor Francis I taking the first steps for the restoration and repair of the castle. Then, major repairs are carried out at the end of the XIX century, led by Professor Schmidt of the Vienna Academy of Fine Arts. Recent restoration work has been in our century, not quite true: for rehabilitation work using cement instead of stone. Many critics believe this is the reason that UNESCO has not yet been included in Karlstejn World Heritage List. The history of the castle is full of not only the historical events connected with the political life of the country, but many incredible legends and myths. Most of them are based on real facts, but some stories are already so "overgrown" stories that distinguish the truth from priskazok is unrealistic. For example, the legend that the original castle was denied membership to women, until the wife of Charles IV, has not removed the ban by a special decree. Or chilling story of "Bloody Pani," the woman who killed fourteen people. Many of these legends included in the framework of Czech plays and folk songs. At the moment the castle is public property. It organized a historical museum, and the main rooms of the castle are open for tourist inspection. After the sights of Prague Karlstejn is the most popular tourist attraction Czech Republic.The castle is open to visitors all year round. Working days: from Tuesday to Sunday from 9.00 am to 15.00 in the period from November to March, April and October to 16.00, May and September - up to 17.00 and 18.00 during the summer months. In November and February, the castle is open to visitors only on weekends in December and January - every day except holidays (24, 25 December and from 1 to 6 January).
Konopiště considered one of the most beautiful and popular castles Czech Republic. The majestic building for more than seven hundred years, dominates the countryside, 45 km south-east of Prague. Originally the castle was a defensive tower with a moat of cylindrical shape and suspension bridge. Over time, Konopiště was expanded in the spirit of French Gothic to the mighty fortress: the walls with two belts Párkányi, seven round towers (four corners, one d middle of the eastern and western walls, and a main tower with a gate - the very first tower, which is preserved to the present days). Each era brought something new to look at the castle. In the XVII century it was modified Gothic style under the influence of the Renaissance, in the XVIII century Konopiště thoroughly rebuilt in baroque style, and as such it has survived until now. The last large-scale reconstruction of the castle was carried out with the Archduke Franz Ferdinand d'Este von Habsburg. According to his wishes, the architects Josef and Franz Mokker Shmorants Konopiště equipped with the latest technology end of the XIX century the castle was held water, electricity, sewage, and are arranged mechanical shooting hydraulic lift, which was powered by a specially erected for it on a nearby pond dam. Then around Konopiště broken English park on 225 acres with a rose garden, terraces and marble statues. Archduke Franz Ferdinand owned mostly services and interior decoration of the castle. For already existing collections of furniture, paintings, tapestries, glass, porcelain, weapons, armor and trophies new owner added his own extensive collection, and all this splendor is almost completely preserved to this day. Franz Ferdinand, being an avid collector and hunter, has taken care of and also an accurate catalog of their collections. As a result, in our time through a detailed catalog and photographs not only managed to recover all the items in Konopiště (except for two lost), but also to establish and hang them precisely on those places which they occupied during the life of the Archduke. The most significant are presented in three out of the lock assembly. First, a collection of weapons and armor, sometimes referred to d'Estenskoy armory. It includes assembly labor Obitstsi, Este and Habsburg, accumulated over several centuries, and Franz Ferdinand received an inheritance. Adding to them their own exhibits and already available in Konopiště instances, the Archduke has created one of Europe's largest collections of military and hunting weapons and armor era XVI-XIX centuries, including nearly five thousand items, among which there are also some very rare instances. Second, in a rich hunting Konopiste presented a collection of Franz Ferdinand, gathered them around the world. The number of trophies up to 300 000, they are decorated all the rooms and corridors of the castle. Each stuffed animal, skin, horns, etc. equipped with a precise indication of time and place when the trophy was produced. So the Archduke tried to put his passion for service to science. Finally, another gem of lock assembly is a collection of St. George. It includes art, crafts and handicrafts depicting St George. The collection includes about four thousand artifacts XV-XIX centuries and shows today in a special gallery of the castle of St. Jiri.Konopiště as gothic castle was rebuilt by Bishop Tobias of Benesova at the end of the XIII century (around 1294). After the race broke Benesova in 1327, the castle passed to the influential Czech noblemen Sternberg, who had owned them for nearly three hundred years. Then, from the XVII to XIX century Konopiště replaces a number of owners, who belonged to the upper class the Czech Republic: Godeevskie of Godeeva, Mihnovy of Vatsinova, Vrtbovy of Vrtby, Lobkowicz. A short time after the Battle of White Mountain castle belonged to the famous Albrecht von Wallenstein, even, the legendary commander of the Thirty Years War. The first adjustment was made at the end of the XV century, Jiri Sternberg, then Godeevskie in the early XVII century, was reconstructed in Renaissance style Konopiště, has attached to the original residential palace fortress, in the XVIII century have produced a large-scale alteration Vrtby of the castle, giving it a current baroque form. In Konopiště appeared, for example, the fresco "The Four Seasons" of F.Y. Lux on the ceiling of a large hall, carved marble fireplaces of L. Widmann. Was cut through the new entrance to the central tower of the east wall, a drawbridge was replaced with a stone, was attached southern wing and the height of the towers was reduced to a common with other buildings of the castle. In 1887 Konopiště was purchased Archduke Franz Ferdinand in the count of Modena, the last of the kind of Lobkowicz, and at the same time opened the final reconstruction Konopiště. The castle was to become a worthy dwelling of the future Emperor of Austria-Hungary. Archduke family lived here until 1914, when on June 28 at military maneuvers in Bosnia, Franz Ferdinand and his wife Sofia were shot by Serbian nationalist Gavrila Principle. A month later, the Emperor Franz Joseph I declared war on Serbia, which became the beginning of World War II. After the end of hostilities and the collapse of the Austro-Hungarian Empire, the castle in 1921, became the property of the Republic of Czechoslovakia, and after its division into the Czech Republic and Slovakia in 1993 and remained in the ownership of the Czech Republic. During the Second World War, from 1943 to 1945., Konopiště was the headquarters of troops CC warehouse in Bohemia and trophy art. In 2000, Princess Sophia von Hohenberg, the great-granddaughter of Franz Ferdinand, has filed suit against the Czech government demanding the return of her castle as the legitimate property of the Habsburgs, but the decision on the claim and there are not rendered.Castle runs from April 1 to October 30, a day off - Monday. In November Konopiště is only open on Saturdays and Sundays. Ticket price 90-310 euros, depending on the chosen route trips, the language in which it is conducted, and the rights of specific tourists to certain benefits. Tickets for the shooting, in a rose garden and a viewing collections of St. George, will cost 15 euros (per person) to 80 euros (with a family trip in a foreign language). When buying tickets several routes discounts on visits to other excursions. There are three guided tours of the castle Konopiště. The first covers the rooms and corridors of the south wing, and also includes the inspection of trophies Franz Ferdinand. The second runs along the northern wing, the arsenal, library and chapel, in addition, you will see a hydraulic elevator and the armory collection of Archduke d'Este. The third tour includes private rooms and family rooms of some of the castle.
Castle Ayhelburg conveniently located on a rocky ledge on the eastern slope of the mountains Pec pod Sněžkou nearly blew Dark village, in welcoming the Czech Republic. Built the castle on the arched bridge over the river Upou. The height of this tiny castle fortress is 115 meters above the river (or 734 meters above sea level). Today, it is a small fortress, consisting of a wooden extension and residues observation tower with battlements. In the direction of the castle are two paths, which lead regular walking tours throughout the year. Inside the fortress there is a spacious hall, fully made of wood. There are many personal possessions of Count Berthold Ayhelburga, in whose honor was erected this fortress. There is also a large glass bust of the graph, and in the next room is a posthumous portrait of the graph. A total of 3 rooms of the fortress.To enter the castle, you go to flip a wooden bridge, across the moat. From the observation tower, which has been preserved from those times with a great view of the village of Dark blew the one hand, and the rich flora of the local mountains on the other hand, including on Red Mountain. The castle is not so easy to find in the forest, so go there either with a guide, or with those who have already been there once.When a small restaurant located here. There were served wine, beer, coffee, bread with butter and cheese, great Prussian ham. But because the castle is located quite far Ayhelburg the ski resorts, the economic feasibility of the content of this restaurant quickly showed that the restaurant was not profitable, and it was closed.Castle Ayhelsburg located in a rather dangerous place. Often in the winter avalanches. Therefore, until our own times from the old small, just a tiny castle ruins remain of the old stone castle, tower and gear chetyrehstoronnyayaya vaulted cellar. Wooden annexe done again. The uniqueness of the structure of the castle lies in the fact that its wooden part was created without a single nail, always extremely clean tree, sealed in a special way. In 1998 - 1999 were restored two historic hiking trails that lead to the castle Ayhelsburg. One originates from the river Yupa, and is approximately 400 meters, and the second from the mines of the Dark Dula.Forest Castle, also known as a stronghold Ayhelburg, built a forester Ayhelburga graph. It's also a tribute to the Count. Berthold Ayhelburg played a significant role in the development of this area. He was an intelligent and wise ruler of Eastern Giant. The locals are very fond of him and respected him. He died tragically in May 1861 and to honor his memory, local residents decided to erect on the rock a small castle. In the summer of 1862 administrator Heinrich Schubert and the forester John Miksa began to look for a place to create a memorable romantic castle-fortress. In the future construction led John Miksa. Finished construction a year later in August 1863. Later the castle was used for sightseeing tourists, while there is a restaurant. But by 1901 the castle fell into decay. In 1872, was damaged by water. But by 1901 the castle fell into decay. After 1945 the castle almost no one visits, it comes in a complete desolation, as well as the two main pathways that lead to it.Restoration work began in the 90s of the 20th century. Was used to estimate the state of the castle and its historical value, the legal issues are settled. It creates the civil society to restore historic sites. Since 1995, the community come to grips with the restoration. Money taken out, as they could, even asked for help in the Ministry of Environment. Finally, in 1998-1999, were restored two historic trails leading to the castle, and in 2000, the castle Ayhelburg began his work as a museum.What was so remarkable Berthold Ayhelburg for local residents? He ran the Dark muzzle and Mars from 1829 to 1861. He had an enormous influence on the development of eastern regions Krkshone, and contributed to improving the lives of local climbers. He also supported the creation of a glass factory in the area. He also promoted the creation of the judicial district of Mars to the locals solve their urgent problems anywhere without leaving. However, he still was a great musician and composer. He put his hand to the creation of the brewery, arranged permanent exhibitions and concerts, where he played himself and his team. Under his people lived well, so his name is aroused, almost awe. So one of the local trails, 8 miles long, bears his name.Visit the castle may by agreement with the caretaker. Keys to the castle Ayhelburg available in the gallery, or the information center "Merry tour" in the village of Dark blew. Also in the castle for a fee you can spend birthdays or weddings.The two major tours - Castle Ayhelburg and Berthold Ayhelburg.
Castle Bezděz located in the Czech Republic, at a distance of 20 kilometers from the city of Lipa Ceska. Near the castle is Macha's Lake, named in honor of the great Czech poet Karel Macha Ginko. Bezděz - a classic example of Gothic architectural style, mixed here two directions - Early French and German Gothic. You can climb to the castle on a steep mountain path length of about one kilometer. The rise of a fairly heavy, but at the end of a tired traveler will be rewarded with stunning views of the surrounding area.Bezděz partially destroyed. There is no accommodation, this is only the remnants of the old fortress, fortified in our own time, and fitted with handrails and stairs. A distinctive feature of the castle - the unusual architecture and ornaments made of sandstone. It is also famous for its huge Bezděz sorokametrovoy Great Tower. In Soviet times, entrance to it was closed to tourists - this is due to the fact that from the top of the tower you can look in detail at a tank training ground. Today there is no tank ranges, and the entrance to the Grand Tower is open to all tourists. With lock Bezděz connected many legends and superstitions. Some of them thought up guides, and some for over a century. One of the legends tells about creating a 20-meter wall surrounding the castle and the hills Bezděz. They say that in ancient times, the devil met on the road a lone rider. Bet they made a wager that the devil is faster to build a wall, starting from the mountains to Zhested Bezděz than rider proskachet this distance on his horse. The wall was almost ready, when the cock crowed - begin dawn. Embittered devil remaining stones scattered around the castle. It turned out two stone hills - great and small Bezděz.Near the castle is a reserve of about 30 hectares. It was opened in 1949 and is situated at an altitude of 505-683 meters above sea level. The reserve is home to several rare species of animals, insects and plants listed in the Red Book. On the eastern slope of the mountain is the great basalt quarry Bezděz, and at the northern foot of it - ice cave. In the summer there are guided tours of the reserve. Bezděz castle and its surroundings - one of the most beautiful of Czech attractions. Around the castle is the so-called "Way of the Cross", where you can see many small chapels. Numerous tourists Bezděz nicknamed the King of castles, and its beauty and grandeur inspired the poet and composer Carl Mach Bedrich Smetana. The latter even devoted an entire castle opera, which tells of the legends of the castle.Bezděz was built as a strategic fortress during the period from 1264 to 1278 years. The founder of the castle was the King of Bohemia Premysl Ottokar II. The king did not wait for completion - this was prevented by the war. Przemysl was killed in the battle of the Moravian field, and his son Wenceslas II and Queen Kunigunda were imprisoned in the castle. After a year of royalty escaped from prison with the help of local residents.Vaclav paid for the ransom of the castle £ 15,000 and ruled it until his death. Was succeeded by his son, and later took over the castle King Charles IV, who ordered to dig a huge pond near the castle, later called Macha's Lake. One can only assume how much time and effort was spent on such a great job.Later Bezděz was fortified with stone walls, remnants of which can still be seen today. At the time of castle wars gusistskih was partially destroyed and lay in ruins until the 17th century. In 1622 became the owner of Albrecht Wallenstein Bezděz, who made great efforts for the restoration and reconstruction of the castle. In 1637, Wallenstein was murdered and the strength given in the order of the Benedictine monks who made Bezděz place for pilgrimage. Annually visited the castle before 40,000 pilgrims traveling. The monks have built a great treasure, but the main value was a copy of Monserratskoy Madonna, to worship and to which so many pilgrims came. In 1778 the monastery was attacked by the Prussian army, and plundered and took all the valuables. For a long time Bezděz remained homeless and gradually destroyed. The castle settled monks and robbers. Perhaps the thugs and give rise to many legends of evil spirits, who lived in the castle. Since 1968, some military training ground located Bezděz Ralsko, which were armored doctrine. Remains of the landfill is still possible to see from the highest point of the castle - Great Tower. Each year, about 53 Bezděz visits of thousands of tourists - mostly Czechs, Germans and Russian. In the castle come to visit this ancient fortress, climb the two famous towers, height of 40 meters and 30 and visit the gothic chapel.
Castle Grabshteyn is located in the Czech Republic near the town of Liberec, near the border of three countries: the Czech Republic, Germany and Poland. The fortress was originally built in the Gothic style, but in rezultate many renovations and changes its facade and interior have acquired traditional character style renaissance.The dominant building is Grabshteyn round tower, which offers beautiful views of the surrounding area. It was rebuilt many times, today it is undervalued and it has attached the original top that resembles a helmet.Preserved as the Renaissance chapel of St. Barbara, decorated with original frescoes with pictures of animals, people, as well as the heraldic motifs of the XVI century, in the style of the Renaissance. The construction of the chapel dates from 1569 unique year. Currently, she is among the most impressive facilities of the Czech province of the Renaissance.Currently, the fortress restored and is a national monument of architecture. Each room is devoted to the castle Grabshteyn particular historical era and the famous personalities associated with it. One of the rooms is decorated in an apartment of Countess Clam-Gallas Josephine, which tied a romantic relationship with Ludwig van Beethoven. Another room is the chambers of the Chancellor George Strelike Mechelen, who owned a castle in the XVI century. In addition, tourists can admire the famous wealthy bedroom nobles of the Renaissance and sumptuous hall for banquets and balls.No less interesting is the basement of the fortress and Grabshteyn, which is currently held numerous exhibitions of handicrafts, the exposure processing of precious stones, as well as the old smithy. An integral part of the basement is accessible to the public beginning of "a secret passage."The entire palace complex surrounded by a magnificent park, where in ancient times intertwined Gothic and Renaissance styles. This is a prime example of romantic parkland, re-created at the beginning of the XIX century. The central part of the garden is a beautiful linden alley in which there are some pine trees. The terraces of the park on the southern slope are colorful meadows, planted various herbs, among which Pulmonariya, chamomile, unique plant St. John's, Primrose, coltsfoot, and other medicinal and agricultural plants. On the east side of the park area can see a lot of maple, spruce, pine, Eastern White Pine and a few oaks and chestnuts. The lower tier of the garden is covered with carpets of ivy. Of architectural elements that have been preserved to our time in the garden was only a nonfunctioning stone fountain.The castle stands on Grabshteyn steep cliff not far from the valley of the river Nysa Nyssa in places where it leaves the bed of the North-Bohemian border mountains, and then the whole Czech Republic. The first mention of the fortress Grabshteyn can be found in some historical documents of the XIII century. However, historians still do not agree on the common view, when the fortress was built.In the second half of the XIII century, in the rule of the Premysl Otakar II, appeared burgrave of Donin, who are the first owners Grabshteyna. In this era, there was a mighty round tower, a dominant fortress and the whole neighborhood, serving viewing point.Until the end of the XV century manor and castle, is at an important strategic place - the border between the Czech Republic and puddle, were the site of many military battles. At the same time was erected and building line of bastions, to date, partly preserved in the construction of the south wing.The famous family has lived in the castle Donin Grabshteyn up to half of the XVI century. However, they had to sell the castle because of debts and problems with co-owners of the manor.The new owner, who purchased the castle in 1562, was the provincial governor and adviser to Chancellor Dr. George Meel of Strzhelits. The old Gothic castle he rebuilt in Renaissance style. The appearance of this period has changed and the old chapel of St. Barbara. When it was built the same house for the servants, later demolished and renovated only in 1830 in classical style.But not for long Meel enjoyed the fruits of their labor. In 1586 he, like the previous owners had to sell the castle, as his position at the court declined with the advent of the new King Rudolph II. Acquired Grabshteyn longtime friend Meela, Ferdinand Hofmann of Gryunenbyula. During the severe Thirty Years' War, which lasted from 1618 to 1648 years, the powerfully fortified castle for a few years settled the Swedish garrison, spacious apartments have been converted into a modest military barracks, and the main tower and numerous bastions, after a brief hiatus, were used for other purposes.After the war, the fortress became a rich and influential family Trautmansdorf. However, despite the high social and political situation, it could not overturn the decision of the demolished fortifications, which took the Emperor himself. Decree on the Elimination of the castle Grabshteyn was published in 1655 with a purpose - to reduce the military importance of the fortress.In 1704 the estate became Duke Christian Clam-Gallas, to attach him to his North Bohemian possessions with the center in Frydlant. As a result of multiple rearrangements formed New Castle, surrounded by a large park, where there were rare and valuable species.In half of the XVIII century, when the latter died of the genus Gallas in the male line, the family intermarried with the native Clam. At the period of the estate of the Clam-Gallas has to rise and flourishing of the castle Grabshteyn. The owners of famous strength attachment to expensive works of art, which they generously decorated his residence Grafenstein hrad.The decline of the castle comes at a time after World War II. The fortress was practically devastated because of looting and theft.Reconstruction and restoration of the castle began in 1989. Restoration work produced the best masters of the country, among which are such famous figures as artist Martin and Joseph Martin Tux. Huge contribution to the reconstruction of the castle made Grabshteyn DBU - German Environmental Fund, Ludek Vele musician in the form of charity concerts, the Czech-German Future Fund, as well as the Ministry of Culture.Reconstruction lasted almost 10 years, but now the castle is Grabshteyn one of the most actively visited landmarks Czech Republic. In 1993, the Grafenstein hrad was reopened to the public.
Castle Dětenice - Czech architectural monument of the Renaissance. It is located on the outskirts of the reserve Bohemian Paradise, in the eponymous town, some 70 km north-east of Prague. In fact, first fortress on this spot appeared in the 11th century, and now the eyes of tourists and guests of the reserve presents a fine building of red in the Baroque style. Among the surrounding green trees an English park looks very nice castle. This three-story building with a large four-story tower. The structure of the castle is also included so-called gallery, the gallery is on the pillars at the entrance to Detenice. Beneath it is a summer restaurant. And in an English park also has its attractions, both natural - the trees, whose age is more than 400 years, and man-made - fountains with statues of mythical centaur and nymph, and other stone works of art in the classical style. Despite the fact that the Czech people themselves call it an architectural creation castle, in fact it is rather a magnificent palace. Tourists eager to come here to feel their own skin, what it means to be a commoner in Europe of the 16th century.The hosts of today's estate made great efforts to lock in the vital Detenice joyful atmosphere. And in fact, being in the castle to visitors, for example, after a tour and inspection of the interior, should be offered in a medieval tavern serving food cooked in the oven, there have hands and drink from cups heavy. Inn itself is made so that the people in it completely lost track of time, and they plunged into the Middle Ages. The entire interior of the restaurant is perfect in this work, even the floors are laid with straw there, the halls are covered with light the torches on the walls hang the skins of wild beasts, and ambient sounds are dissolved in medieval music. Sitting in a restaurant exclusively at long tables on the same long benches. All meals are prepared at this time in the oven in front of the guests of the castle. All this action is even more realistic with a host of actors playing the role of various medieval personalities from the girls of easy virtue to the Knights. So visitors to the castle, like it or not, and have to get used to the role of medieval travelers who have stayed in Detenice. Incidentally, the restaurant is located near the famous brewery Dětenice - there you can visit the brewery museum and the famous old brewery with him. Assess the quality of the local products can be during tasting beer. This is very interesting, if only because that it is prepared to Detenice on old technologies. have not changed for centuries. Czechs themselves have come here to enjoy the art of brewing their ancestors. The castle is rich in a variety of interior elements of the time and the visitors with their own eyes can see the old way of life of Czech noblemen, how they amused themselves, what they ate, slept on anything, and so on. Inside the castle-palace, visitors can see a huge variety of works of art and other valuables belonging to different times of their owners. This painting, furniture, stuffed animals and birds, weapons Maltezskih knights, and various elements of decor, kitchenware, books and more. All of this - a rich collection, numbering more than one hundred beautiful exhibits. In the evenings at the castle arrange colorful fireworks. Thus, a tour of the castle Detenice this familiarity with the medieval culture of the Czech Republic and at the same time a vivid, theatrical. We can say that most tourists come to the Czech Paradise rather than for the castle itself, but in order to enjoy a medieval flair and dinner in the castle restaurant.History started in the first half of the 11th century. According to legend, the local village came under the rule of the Czech Duke Ulrich. While hunting with his retinue in the woods nearby, he found the abandoned children. Being a gentleman, the prince took them to himself, and he ordered the village was built, named Detenice (translated from the Czech word literally means - "the children"). Lock in these places have appeared much later - in the 13th century. It was a stronghold in the Gothic style, which replaced a lot of owners. Originally belonged to the knight's fortress of sorts, then passed into the hands of the nobles. The fortress was reconstructed several times, always paying tribute to the fashion of his time. Renaissance castle was built during the dynasty Krzhinetskih possession. The estate belonged to them over 100 years. In 1619 a representative of this noble family built a large tower, and it was thanks to him the legend, disturbing people's minds today. Fleeing from the penalty, the owner of the castle fled to Saxony, but before hastily hid their treasures in the underground labyrinth under the palace. Is this true or fiction, today it is difficult to say unequivocally, but still inexorably enthusiasts look for the treasure to this day. After these events, the castle went into the possession of Wallenstein - one of the most distinguished noble families of Bohemia - then the Czech Republic. They owned the castle, as Krzhinetskie a century, after which it was bought by a rich Czech Jan Christian Count Clam-Gallas. The yard was already 18 centuries and graph ordered to rebuild the castle by the architect Zahariyyasha Figerta in late Baroque style. In this form it is today before us. In the early 19th century, the revolution broke out in Austria and the famous Austrian baron Visserberg - Chairman of the Council of Ministers, the Habsburgs were forced to flee in Detenice. Then the palace came into the possession of his son. With his life in a castle in the style of decoration came later classics. Son Visserberga bequeathed Detenice Order Knights of Malta. In 1903 they sold the castle Jewish tycoon, whose son lost all his property in exchange. Thereafter, until 1927 the castle Detenice had given the owner until he bought a construction engineer Rzhegak. He began to repair and restoration of the castle.Check out the castle is usually done on Wednesdays and Fridays at 16:30, return at ten o'clock in the evening. The ticket price includes just two trips - to lock Detenice and his brewery, as well as three-course dinner in a restaurant and a beer or wine to choose from.
©Travelocity.com LP 2000-2009