Puerto Vallarta Journals

Our Puerto Vallarta Reviews (7 trips)

A travel journal to Puerto Vallarta by We love Puerto Vallarta!

Quote: We have taken seven trips to Puerto Vallarta and taken many tours and visited many restaurants. We have created a short overview of the things we have done on our trips.

Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center

Hotel | "Buganvilias Resort Vacation Club (Sheraton)"

Quote:
Best Things Nearby:It is a short walk to the Malecon, maybe 10 minutes. It is the nicest, closest resort to town.Best Things About the Resort:The views from the balconies are beautiful. The pools are fun and relaxing, great for kids. Excellent poolside service for food and drink. Very close to town.Resort Experience:Buganvilias is beautiful! We love it because we can stay in a condo and friends can come with and stay in the hotel if they can't afford the timeshare accommodations. The pools are wonderful and the grounds are very clean and well kept. The rooms are clean and updated. They have great entertainment and are very close to town. We never take...Read More

Member Rating 5 out of 5 on January 1, 2004

Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center
Blvd Medina Ascencio 999
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico 48330

Panorama

Restaurant

Quote:
Our favorite. Very romantic. Upper three levels of a hotel overlooking Puerto Vallarta and the ocean. Great shrimp and steak. Be prepared to walk up stairs - the last few times, the elevator was out of order, and we walked about seven flights of stairs. (It's worth the walk.) Average price for two with cocktails is $70. (This is with appetizers and a ton of food.)

Member Rating 5 out of 5 on January 1, 2004

Panorama

Puerto Vallarta, Mexico

Le Kliff Restaurant & Bar

Restaurant | "Le Kliff"

Quote:
This is a restaurant that sits on the edge of a cliff (hence the name). Years ago, they would have cliff divers off the edge, but not anymore. It is a beautiful outdoor restaurant under an enormous palapa roof. Live music and the best sunset you will see in PV. If you are there during whale season, you can even get a view of the whales. Great surf and turf deals...lobster tail and filet for $20-25. This restaurant is south of PV and Mismaloya. It is near a town called Boca. This will cost about $8.00 - $10.00 USC by cab each way. We think it is worth it, and if you have another couple to go with, then you can split the fare.

Member Rating 5 out of 5 on January 1, 2004

Le Kliff Restaurant & Bar
Barra de Navidad Km. 17.5
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico 48300
+52 322 224 0975

Pipis

Restaurant | "Pipi's"

Quote:
Great atmosphere and great place for kids. Food was wonderful and very reasonable. Great margaritas! This is located about 4 blocks down from McDonald's and 4 blocks up from the Malecon. Average price for two without cocktails $20. The atmosphere makes the experience a great time! You will not have a bad time at this restaurant.

Member Rating 5 out of 5 on January 1, 2004

Pipis
Guadalupe Sanchez 807
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico 48380
+52 322 327 67

Las Casuelas

Restaurant

Quote:
Located on "restaurant row," or the street Basillo Badillo, all the way up to the east side of the street. Beautiful atmosphere with great Mexican home cooking. Limited menu of about 10 dishes, but every one of them is wonderful!! You can sit next to a large wall that has lots of greenery and things to look at with an open roof above. Very romantic!! Excellent food...can't say enough about it!

Member Rating 5 out of 5 on January 1, 2004

Las Casuelas
Basillo Badillo
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico

Fajita Republic

Restaurant

Quote:
Looking for great fajitas? This is the place...located on Basillo Badillo (restaurant row). Try their mozzarella sticks - unlike any you have had before! Very reasonable prices!

Member Rating 4 out of 5 on January 1, 2004

Fajita Republic
Pino Suarez 321
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico 48300
+ 52 322 231 31

El Palomar de los Gonzalez

Restaurant | "El Palomar de Gonzalez"

Quote:
Located up the mountain from downtown PV. Beautiful atmosphere and incredible view! You can sit overlooking the city and ocean, and on the other side is a beautiful pool. This restaurant has been owned by the Gonzalez family for years. Our suggestion...the seafood platter is wonderful, but if you are looking for a surf and turf, don't look here. We don't care for their steak - lack of flavor. Don't plan on walking here - very high hills. Tell the cab driver and they will know where to go. They will call a cab when you leave. During high season, there is usually a cab waiting to take people back.

Member Rating 4 out of 5 on January 1, 2004

El Palomar de los Gonzalez
Aguacuate 425
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico 48380
+ 52 322 207 95; + 5

Quote:
THE BEST PLACE FOR BREAKFAST!!! They make anything from pancakes, waffles, hash browns, eggs...to huevos rancheros and quesadillas. We love to eat breakfast here because it is so cheap, much cheaper than the hotel buffets, and much better too! Located on Basillo Badillo. They open later...around 8am. Our average meal for two...$10 USC. You can't beat this restaurant!!!

Member Rating 5 out of 5 on January 1, 2004

Memo's Pancake House
Basilio Badillo 289
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico 48380
+52 (322) 26272

Roberto's Puerto Nuevo

Restaurant | "Roberto's Lobster House"

Quote:
Located on Basillo Badillo. This is not the place to go if you are looking for atmosphere. They have good lobster and reasonably priced. My only complaint is that if you sit outside, you get the PV children interrupting dinner trying to sell you anything from Chiclets to roses...not just once or twice...throughout the entire meal.

Member Rating 3 out of 5 on January 1, 2004

Roberto's Puerto Nuevo
Basilio Badillo 284
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico 48380
+ 52 322 262 10

Chef Rogers

Restaurant

Quote:
Also on Basillo Badillo...more pricey...but great atmosphere - poolside with little frog water fountains around the pool. Try the coconut breaded shrimp...best in PV!!! Very, very romantic.

Member Rating 4 out of 5 on January 1, 2004

Chef Rogers
Basillo Badillo
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico

Las Palmas

Restaurant

Quote:
Located across from the Malecon. Great for an afternoon snack. We used to always go here when we first arrived in PV. You can sit upstairs or along the front and watch the PV school kids having gym class on the beach. They have great Queso Fundido. Cheap!

Member Rating 4 out of 5 on January 1, 2004

Las Palmas

Puerto Vallarta, Mexico

No Name Bar & Grill

Restaurant | "No Name Cafe"

Quote:
Our home away from home. Decorated Chicago-style!! Everything in it is from Chicago! This is a great place for burgers. They have a huge variety and a "bar"-type atmosphere. Great place to watch American football games...we watched the Superbowl here and the Bears/Packers game. If you plan on watching a Superbowl here, go the day before and buy a ticket - they will reserve a table for you. It gets very crowded!

Member Rating 5 out of 5 on January 1, 2004

No Name Bar & Grill
Marina
Puerto Vallarta
(322) 297-5748

Le Bistro Jazz Cafe

Restaurant | "Le Bistro"

Quote:
Located next to the Rio Cuale (the river in PV) just before the bridge as you go north on the main drag. Very good food, great surf and turf. Very romantic atmosphere and wonderful service.

Member Rating 4 out of 5 on January 1, 2004

Le Bistro Jazz Cafe
River Cuale Island 16-A
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico 48380
+ 52 322 22202 83

Quote:
Great place for lunch or breakfast. On the other side of the bridge from Le Bistro. Food is good and cheap. Also across from the market, so you can eat a quick lunch and shop.

Member Rating 3 out of 5 on January 1, 2004

La Fuente del Puente
Insurgentes and Rio Cuale
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico 48300
+52 322 21141

Cheeseburger in Paradise

Restaurant | "Cheese Burger in Paradise"

Quote:
Love their burgers!! Best burgers in PV! Overlooking the Malecon...on the second level for a great view. Really good fries and onion rings. Reasonably priced!

Member Rating 4 out of 5 on January 1, 2004

Cheeseburger in Paradise
Paseo Diaz Ordaz 740
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico 48350
+ 52 322 323 28

Cafe des Artistes

Restaurant

Quote:
Your place for French food while in town. Great food, but very expensive...I would say at least $100 with cocktails for a party of two. This is located off the beaten path...the cab drivers know the way.

Member Rating 4 out of 5 on January 1, 2004

Cafe des Artistes
Guadalupe Sanchez 740
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico 48300
+52 (322) 22 232 28

Blue Shrimp

Restaurant | "The Blue Shrimp"

Quote:
Off the beaten path. I would not recommend it. The shrimp wasn't very good and it was overpriced. The atmosphere was kind of dark. I have had much better shrimp elsewhere.

Member Rating 1 out of 5 on January 1, 2004

Blue Shrimp
Morelos #779
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
+52 (322) 222-4246

Quote:
ATV Tour - taken this twice...so much fun!!! You go up into the mountains and through dried-up river beds. Lots of fun! Dune Buggy Tour - Be prepared to get wet, and wear something you don't plan on keeping! Lots of fun, just very muddy. We took this tour through Chico's dive shop on the Malecon. Rhythms of the Night (Las Caletas) (boat to island) - about an hour boat ride to another part of PV you can't reach by car. Very, very romantic dinner by candlelight with really good food. Then on to a show - we didn't care for the show, but the dinner was good and the boat is very lively on the way back. Paradise Escape waterfall tour - Beautiful waterfalls. We went to the mo...Read More