Results 1-2of 2 Reviews
September 23, 2006
As we approached the village we chose a right fork to take us to the North restaurant and although this turned out to the prettiest entry (we exited by the other road) it took us through the narrowest streets of the village with no chance of two cars negotiating the road. Parts were totally covered in places by arched bougainvillea and we had to extremely patient as villagers paused, blocking the whole road, to unload their cars. As we approached the harbour there was fortunately a single parking spot available.
The town is particularly picturesque and built around a quaint harbour with a small pebbly beach. There are some obvious remains of old mansions but generally the place was destroyed in 1953 and has been rebuilt. Apparently the re-building was financed by the French government and we were told it was known as "Paris" in honour of that grand gesture. The town was alive with activity: people relaxing on the ‘beach’; canoeists on the water, others enjoying a coffee in one of the many restaurants; tourists checking out the town; locals buying fresh vegetables from the "veg van". This town has a real atmosphere and somehow retains its historical heritage.
On the other side of the cove is "real history". At the top of a steep and long unmade road (you’ll need a 4x4 to drive up) is a Venetian fortress, There are some fantastic views on route and even if, like us, you don’t make it to the top it really is worth the effort to walk through the town and wander up the slope for 15 minutes. The full impact of this small town’s setting can then be appreciated – defended by the mighty fortress and accessed by a narrow tract of land with rocky coves either side. It does look spectacular and with the vibrancy of the blue sea its glory is truly enhanced. We had seriously intended to make it to the top but the heat was too much for us and I reckon it must be a good hours walk to the fortress entrance.
Make sure you stop off at this pretty town and have a snack in one of the many tavernas.
From journal Fascinating Fiscardo
by GB from Devizes
Devizes, United Kingdom
November 5, 2005
A narrow isthmus joins the village to a small island, atop of which is a ruined castle of quite monumental proportions. The harbour is adorned with tavernas and restaurants, all adjacent to the gentle lapping of the water.
We leave the main road on the crest of a hill on a tight right-hand bend and begin the long descent into the village. The road has recently been widened and metalled which is quite a relief as it corkscrews down the mountainside, hairpin after hairpin. It begins to flatten out and we enter the eastern end of the village, past some beautiful villas that signify that Assos is not just another “fish-and-chip” Brit resort.
The village huddles around a quaint, horseshoe- shaped harbour with a few fishing boats bobbing on the gentle swell. We park up in the square and as it’s close to lunch-time, feel the need for food. We try “Nefeli’s” and our experience here is detailed later.
Having dined, we stroll around the village which has a surprising number of memorials. We find a wall plaque in memory of the French who assisted greatly in the rebuilding of Assos, post 1953. It reads, “In recognised memory of the generous contribution by the city of Paris in the rebuilding of Assos after the 1953 earthquake”. Many Greeks still refer to the village as “Little Paris”.
Further along is the village’s War memorial as well as an old cannon and anchor. The place has an air of affluence and this is reflected in the decorative state of the houses and other buildings. It’s almost as if everything has just been painted.
The main street, if that is the term to use, is flanked with exotic plants and is pristine with no litter or rubbish blowing about. The rest of Greece might have a lesson or two to learn here…..
From journal Discovering Northern Kefalonia